Online Cricket ID News

Sri Lanka sweep Bangladesh Test series with crushing win

Sri Lanka sweep Bangladesh Test series with crushing win

Sri Lanka sweep Bangladesh Test series with crushing win

Lahiru Kumara finished with 4-50 to help Sri Lanka thump Bangladesh by 192 runs in the second Test and sweep the two-match series 2-0 on Wednesday.

Match Summary                                           

Sri Lanka tour of Bangladesh 2024

Bangladesh 178/10 (68.4 ov) & 318/10 (85 ov)

Sri Lanka 531/10 (159 ov) & 157/7d (40 ov)

Result - SL won by 192 runs

Match Day Analysis

Lahiru Kumara dismissed last man Khaled Ahmed to wrap up a one-sided contest before lunch on the fifth day in Chittagong.

Hosts Bangladesh, chasing a mammoth 511 in their second innings, added just 50 after resuming on 268-7.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz staged a lone fight to stay unbeaten on 81 after completing his sixth Test half-century.

With a Sri Lankan triumph all but inevitable when the day began, Mehidy played some positive strokes to bring up his fifty off 68 balls.

He lost overnight partner Taijul Islam for 14 when the batsman drove off-spinner Kamindu Mendis to Nishan Madushka at gully.

Kamindu finished with 3-32 to go with his unbeaten 92 with the bat in the first innings, earning him the man of the match award.

He was also named player of the series after scoring a hundred in both innings of the first Test.

"The bowlers did their basics on this wicket and the batters did their job as well," Sri Lankan captain Dhananjaya de Silva said.

"The batters were a bit disappointed about not getting runs in the first Test, but we have experienced players. I was confident they would get runs," he added.

"There wasn't a lot of spin on offer. So I thought about reverse swing as a way to get wickets. The pacers were really on the spot."

Sri Lankan pacers accounted for 33 of the 40 Bangladesh wickets to fall, a rare feat on Bangladesh's generally spin-friendly pitches.

Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto said the home side's poor showing for the red-ball series would provoke some soul-searching.

"If you look at our batting, everyone got set but didn't get a big score. That's something to think about," he said. 

"If you get set, you have to make a score. We have to play more first-class cricket."

Sri Lanka won the first Test in Sylhet by 328 runs.

They also triumphed in the three-match T20 series 2-1 but lost the one-day international series by the same margin.

Bangladesh will host Zimbabwe for five T20s in May in their next international engagement, ahead of the T20 World Cup starting in June.


Match Stats

Sri Lanka 1st Innings Fall of wickets: 1-96 (Nishan Madushka - 28.5 ov), 2-210 (Dimuth Karunaratne - 55.1 ov), 3-263 (Kusal Mendis - 71.3 ov), 4-289 (Angelo Mathews - 80.6 ov), 5-375 (Dinesh Chandimal - 105.2 ov), 6-411 (Dhananjaya de Silva - 118.3 ov), 7-476 (Prabath Jayasuriya - 141.5 ov), 8-497 (Vishwa Fernando - 151.5 ov), 9-518 (Lahiru Kumara - 156.3 ov), 10-531 (Asitha Fernando - 158.6 ov)

Bangladesh 1st Innings Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Mahmudul Hasan Joy - 12.3 ov), 2-96 (Zakir Hasan - 32.5 ov), 3-101 (Najmul Hossain Shanto - 35.4 ov), 4-105 (Taijul Islam - 36.4 ov), 5-126 (Shakib Al Hasan - 44.2 ov), 6-130 (Litton Das - 44.5 ov), 7-148 (Shahadat Hossain Dipu - 52.6 ov), 8-165 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz - 61.6 ov), 9-175 (Mominul Haque - 66.4 ov), 10-178 (Khaled Ahmed - 68.4 ov)               

Sri Lanka 2nd Innings Fall of wickets:1-12 (Dimuth Karunaratne - 1.5 ov), 2-15 (Kusal Mendis - 2.5 ov), 3-60 (Nishan Madushka - 12.5 ov), 4-72 (Dinesh Chandimal - 14.4 ov), 5-78 (Dhananjaya de Silva - 16.3 ov), 6-89 (Kamindu Mendis - 19.6 ov), 7-132 (Angelo Mathews - 35.2 ov)

Bangladesh 2nd Innings Fall of wickets: Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Mahmudul Hasan Joy - 9.5 ov), 2-51 (Zakir Hasan - 14.6 ov), 3-94 (Najmul Hossain Shanto - 26.2 ov), 4-132 (Mominul Haque - 33.1 ov), 5-193 (Shakib Al Hasan - 49.4 ov), 6-197 (Litton Das - 52.5 ov), 7-243 (Shahadat Hossain Dipu - 61.3 ov), 8-281 (Taijul Islam - 71.5 ov), 9-312 (Hasan Mahmud - 82.4 ov), 10-318 (Khaled Ahmed - 84.6 ov)

Match Details

Date: Saturday, March 30, 2024 04:00

Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

Toss: Sri Lanka elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Richard Illingworth (England) Rod Tucker (Australia) Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand TV)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

Share With Us