Online Cricket ID News

Rahul pilots Lucknow's return to winning ways

Rahul pilots Lucknow's return to winning ways
IPL 2024

Rahul pilots Lucknow's return to winning ways

Lucknow Super Giants brought their IPL 2024 campaign back on track after they beat Chennai Super Kings by eight wickets at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow on Friday. 

Match Summary

Lucknow Super Giants vs Chennai Super Kings, Match 34

Lucknow Super Giants 180/2 (19 ov)

Chennai Super Kings 176/6 (20 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants won by 8 wickets

Match Analysis

After being asked to bat, Chennai posted 176 for six in their 20 overs and in response Lucknow chased down the target in 19 overs to finish on 180 for two. 

Chennai did not get off to a good start. Ajinkya Rahane held the innings together earlier on. Then it was upto Ravindra Jadeja to revive the innings. Jadeja remained unbeaten on 57 off 40 balls with five boundaries and a six. Chennai was struggling at 90 for five.

Then a 51 run stand between Jadeja and Moeen Ali revived the innings. Towards the end Mahendra Singh Dhoni played a blinder as he made an unbeaten 28 off nine balls to push Chennai to 176 for six in their 20 overs.

For Lucknow the best bowler was Krunal Pandya (2-16).

In their response Lucknow was well served by a brilliant 134 run opening stand between Quinton de Kock (54: 43b, 5x4, 1x6) and skipper Lokesh Rahul (82: 53b, 9x4, 3x6).

Later, Nicholas Pooran carried Lucknow home without much trouble as they chased the target in 19 overs to win by eight wickets. 

Match Stats

Chennai Super Kings Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Rachin Ravindra - 1.1 ov), 2-33 (Ruturaj Gaikwad - 4.2 ov), 3-68 (Ajinkya Rahane - 8.1 ov), 4-87 (Shivam Dube - 11.1 ov), 5-90 (Sameer Rizvi - 12.2 ov), 6-141 (Moeen Ali - 17.5 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants Fall of wickets: 1-134 (Quinton de Kock - 14.6 ov), 2-161 (KL Rahul - 17.1 ov)

Match Details

Date - 2024-04-19 14:00:00

Venue - Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

Toss - Lucknow Super Giants elected to bowl

Umpires - Anil Chaudhary (India), Rohan Pandit (India), Bruce Oxenford (Australia TV)

Share With Us