Online Cricket ID News

Chennai prevail in El Classico despite Sharma's ton

Chennai prevail in El Classico despite Sharma's ton
IPL 2024

Chennai prevail in El Classico despite Sharma's ton

Chennai Super Kings prevailed in the El Classico of Indian Premier League (IPL) as they beat Mumbai Indians by 20 runs at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday night. 

Match Summary

Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings, Match 29

Mumbai Indians 186/6 (20 ov)

Chennai Super Kings 206/4 (20 ov)

Result - Chennai Super Kings won by 20 runs.

Match Analysis

Asked to bat, Chennai posted a total of 206 for four, in response Mumbai couldn’t get the rhythm in the middle and managed 186 for six. 

The new opening pair for Chennai in Ajinkya Rahane and Rachin Ravindra couldn’t make a big impact as they both fell early. Skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad (69:40b, 5x4, 5x6) and Shivam Dube (66:38b, 10x4, 2x6) then brought their team back into the game with their brutal half-centuries.

The Gaikwad-Dube pair added 90 runs and provided much-needed momentum to Chennai's innings. Later MS Dhoni (20 not out 4b, 3x6) finished the innings on a high. Chennai posted a total of 206 for four. 

Mumbai got off to a brutal start with the bat as Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan (23:15b, 3x4, 1x6) added 70 runs for the opening partnership.

But after that, no batter could play a supporting hand to Rohit Sharma, who scored a century with the bat. The opening batter scored unbeaten 105 runs off 63 balls with the help of 11 boundaries and five sixes.

Mumbai ended with a total of 185 for six and fell short by 20 runs. 

Match Stats

Chennai Super Kings Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Ajinkya Rahane - 1.4 ov), 2-60 (Rachin Ravindra - 7.5 ov), 3-150 (Ruturaj Gaikwad - 15.2 ov), 4-186 (Daryl Mitchell - 19.2 ov)

Mumbai Indians  Fall of wickets: 1-70 (Ishan Kishan - 7.1 ov), 2-70 (Suryakumar Yadav - 7.3 ov), 3-130 (Tilak Varma - 13.5 ov), 4-134 (Hardik Pandya - 15.3 ov), 5-148 (Tim David - 16.3 ov), 6-157 (Romario Shepherd - 17.3 ov)

Match Details:

Date: Sunday, April 14, 2024 15:00

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Toss: Mumbai Indians elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Nitin Menon(India) Saiyed Khalid(India) Virender Sharma(India TV)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)

Share With Us