Online Cricket ID News

Siraj puts Bangalore campaign back on track

Siraj puts Bangalore campaign back on track

Siraj puts Bangalore campaign back on track

Royal Challengers Bangalore brought their campaign in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season back on track with a 24 run win over Punjab Kings at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Thursday.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 174 for four in their 20 overs and in response Punjab finished on 150 in in 18.2 overs.

Bangalore started well as their openers stand-in skipper Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis added 137 for the first wicket. Kohli and du Plessis batted together for 16.1 overs. Kohli finished on 59 off 47 balls with five boundaries and a six. du Plessis made 84 off 56 balls with five boundaries and five sixes. Kohli fell first and then there was a blip. Towards the end Bangalore finished on 174 for four in their 20 overs. For Punjab the best bowler was Harpreet Brar (2-31).

Match Summary


Royal Challengers Bangalore: 174-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-137 (Virat Kohli-16.1 ov), 2-137 (Glenn Maxwell-16.2 ov), 3-151 (Faf du Plessis-17.3 ov), 4-163 (Dinesh Karthik-18.6 ov)

Punjab Kings: 150 (18.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Atharva Taide-0.2 ov), 2-20 (Matthew Short-2.1 ov), 3-27 (Liam Livingstone-3.2 ov), 4-43 (Harpreet Singh-5.3 ov), 5-76 (Sam Curran-9.5 ov), 6-97 (Prabhsimran Singh-11.3 ov), 7-106 (M Shahrukh Khan-12.5 ov), 8-147 (Harpreet Brar-17.3 ov), 9-149 (Nathan Ellis-17.6 ov), 10-150 (Jitesh Sharma-18.2 ov)

In their response, Punjab was reduced to 27 for three. Then a 33 run stand between Prabhsimran Singh and Sam Curran tried to put the chase back on track. However it did not work out. Jitesh Sharma took charge of the chase later. He made 41 off 27 balls with two boundaries and three sixes. He tried to stitch together partnerships with the lower order. But it did not work out. Punjab was finally bowled out for 150 in 18.2 overs. For Bangalore the best bowler was Mohammed Siraj (4-21) and Wanindu Hasaranga (2-39). 

Playing XIs

Punjab Kings: Atharva Taide, Matthew Short, Hapreet Singh Bhatia, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran (captain), Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Nathan Ellis, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh; Subs: Prabhsimran Singh, Sikandar Raza, Mohit Rathee, Rishi Dhawan, Shivam Singh

Impact player: Prabhsimran Singh for Rahul Chahar (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Faf du Plessis, Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Wanindu Hasaranga, Suyash Prabhudessai, Harshal Patel, Wayne Parnell, Mohammed Siraj; Subs: Vijaykumar Vyshak, David Willey, Akash Deep, Karn Sharma, Anuj Rawat

Impact player: Vijaykumar Vyshak for Faf du Plessis (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Punjab Kings, elected to field
Venue: PCA IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Sadashiv Iyer (On-field Umpires), Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

Share With Us