Online Cricket ID News

Sharma leads from the front to seal first win

Sharma leads from the front to seal first win

Sharma leads from the front to seal first win

Mumbai Indians registered their first win of the 2023 season in the Indian Premier League (IPL) when they beat Delhi Capitals by six wickets at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Tuesday night.

Asked to bat, Delhi posted 172 in 19.4 overs and in response Mumbai overhauled the target off the last ball of the match to finish on 173 for four.

Delhi had a decent start as skipper David Warner put on 33 runs with Prithvi Shaw for the opening wicket. Then Warner added 43 runs for the second wicket with Manish Pandey. But then there was a collapse as Delhi slipped from 76 for one to 98 for five. Then Warner put on 67 runs for the sixth wicket with Axar Patel to put the innings back on track. Patel ended on 54 off 25 balls with four boundaries and five sixes. Warner made 51 off 47 balls with six boundaries. Towards the end Delhi suffered another collapse as they went from 165 for five to 172 all out in 19.4 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Piyush Chawla (3-22), Jason Behrendorff (3-23) and Riley Meredith (2-34).

In their response Mumbai started off well with skipper Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan. Sharma and Kishan added 71 runs for the opening wicket. Sharma then added 68 runs for the second wicket with Tilak Varma (41: 29b, 1x4, 4x4). Then there was a collapse as Mumbai slipped from 139 for one to 143 for three. Sharma's innings ended on 65 off 45 balls with six boundaries and four sixes. There was a lot of huffing and puffing towards the end Tim David and Cameron Green tried to take Mumbai across the line. In the last over Delhi made some mistakes on the field. Off the final ball, David and Green scampered through for a couple of runs to seal the first win. Mumbai ended on 173 for four in their 20 overs. For Delhi the successful bowler was Mukesh Kumar (2-30). 

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals: 172 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Prithvi Shaw-3.4 ov), 2-76 (Manish Pandey-8.3 ov), 3-81 (Yash Dhull-9.5 ov), 4-86 (Rovman Powell-10.4 ov), 5-98 (Lalit Yadav-12.3 ov), 6-165 (Axar Patel-18.1 ov), 7-166 (David Warner-18.3 ov), 8-166 (Kuldeep Yadav-18.4 ov), 9-166 (Abishek Porel-18.6 ov), 10-172 (Anrich Nortje-19.4 ov)


Mumbai Indians: 173-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-71 (Ishan Kishan-7.3 ov), 2-139 (Tilak Varma-15.5 ov), 3-139 (Suryakumar Yadav-15.6 ov), 4-143 (Rohit Sharma-16.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner (captain), Manish Pandey, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Abishek Porel (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Mustafizur Rahman; Subs: Aman Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Sarfaraz Khan, Praveen Dubey, Ishant Sharma

Impact player: Mukesh Kumar for Prithvi Shaw (1st innings, 19.4 ov)

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadhera, Hrithik Shokeen, Arshad Khan, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Riley Meredith; Subs: Tristan Stubbs, Tim David, Kumar Karthikeya, Arjun Tendulkar, Ramandeep Singh

Impact player: Tim David for Riley Meredith (2nd innings, 15.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Michael Gough, Rohan Pandit (On-field Umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Abhijit Bhattacharya (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)

Share With Us