Online Cricket ID News

Rashid, Sudharsan star in Gujarat triumph

Rashid, Sudharsan star in Gujarat triumph

Rashid, Sudharsan star in Gujarat triumph

Gujarat Titans won its second successive game of Indian Premier Legaue (IPL) 2023 as they beat Delhi Capitals by six wickets at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Tuesday.

Asked to bat, Delhi posted 162 for eight in their 20 overs and in response Gujarat chased down the target in 18.1 overs to finish on 163 for four.

Delhi lost their top-order cheaply as they were reduced to 37 for two in 4.2 overs. Then skipper David Warner held the innings together. But there was another collapse. It then required debutant Abhishek Porel to team up with Sarfaraz Khan as they put on 34 runs for the fifth wicket. Later Axar Patel (36) played a good hand as he smashed three sixes and two boundaries. Delhi finished on 162 for eight in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the best bowlers were Mohammed Shami (3-41), Rashid Khan (3-31) and Alzarri Joseph (2-29).

In their response, Gujarat lost their openers cheaply as Anrich Nortje struck in his first game. Then it required a 53 run stand between Sai Saudharsan and impact player Vijay Shankar to revive the chase. Then towards the end David Miller weighed in with a fine unbeaten 31 off 16 balls with two boundaries and two sixes. Miller added an unbroken 56 runs for the fifth wicket with Sudharsan. In the end Sudharsan finished unbeaten on 62 off 48 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. Gujarat finished on 163 for four in 18.1 overs. For Delhi the best bowler was Nortje (2-39). 

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals: 162-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-29 (Prithvi Shaw-2.4 ov), 2-37 (Mitchell Marsh-4.2 ov), 3-67 (David Warner, 8.2 ov), 4-67 (Rilee Rossouw-8.3 ov), 5-101 (Abishek Porel-12.2 ov), 6-130 (Sarfaraz Khan-16.2 ov), 7-148 (Aman Hakim Khan-18.4 ov), 8-158 (Axar Patel-19.4 ov)

Gujarat Titans: 163-4 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Wriddhiman Saha, 2.1 ov), 2-36 (Shubman Gill-4.1 ov), 3-54 (Hardik Pandya-5.6 ov), 4-107 (Vijay Shankar-13.2 ov)

Playing XIs

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, B Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Josh Little, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Shami; Subs: R Sai Kishore, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Abhinav Manohar, Srikar Bharat

Impact player: Vijay Shankar for Josh Little (2nd innings, 5.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner (captai), Mitch Marsh, Sarfaraz Khan, Rilee Rossouw, Aman Hakim Khan, Axar Patel, Abishek Porel, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar; Subs: Lalit Yadav, Rovman Powell, Chetan Sakariya, Manish Pandey, Khaleel Ahmed

Impact player: Khaleel Ahmed for Sarfaraz Khan (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Titans, elected to field
Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nand Kishore, Sadashiv Iyer (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Daniel Manohar (Match-referee)

Share With Us