Online Cricket ID News

Rajasthan trounce Hyderabad in fine style

Rajasthan trounce Hyderabad in fine style

Rajasthan trounce Hyderabad in fine style

Rajasthan Royals began their campaign in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 with a massive win over Sunrisers Hyderabad by 72 runs at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday.

Asked to bat, Rajasthan posted a massive 203 for five in their 20 overs and in response Hyderabad finished on 131 for eight in their 20 overs.

Rajasthan started off brilliantly as their openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler added 85 for the first wicket. Then Jaiswal put on 54 runs for the second wicket with skipper Sanju Samson. Buttler finished on 54 off just 22 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. Jaiswal made 54 off 37 balls with nine boundaries. Samson made 55 off 32 balls with three boundaries and four sixes. Towards the end Shimron Hetmyer made a quickfire 22. In the end Rajasthan finished on 203 for five in their 20 overs. For Hyderabad the best bowlers were Fazalhaq Farooqi (2-41) and T Natarajan (2-23).

In their response, Hyderabad had a disastrous start as they lost Abhishek Sharma and Rahul Tripathi in the opening over. Then Mayank Agarwal tried to revive the chase with Harry Brook. The innings went into a tailspin as Hyderabad was reduced to 52 for six in 11 overs. The chase was over as a contest very quickly. Towards the end Abdul Samad (brought in as an impact player in place of Farooqi) added 36 runs for the ninth wicket with Umran Malik. Hyderabad finished on 131 for eight in their 20 overs. For Rajasthan the best bowlers were Yuzvendra Chahal (4-17) and Trent Boult (2-21). 

Match Summary
Rajasthan Royals: 203-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-85 (Jos Buttler-5.5 ov), 2-139 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-12.3 ov), 3-151 (Devdutt Padikkal-14.1 ov), 4-170 (Riyan Parag-16.1 ov), 5-187 (Sanju Samson-18.3 ov)


Sunrisers Hyderabad: 131-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Abhishek Sharma-0.3 ov), 2-0 (Rahul Tripathi-0.5 ov), 3-34 (Harry Brook-6.6 ov), 4-39 (Washington Sundar-8.2 ov), 5-48 (Glenn Phillips-9.3 ov), 6-52 (Mayank Agarwal-10.6 ov), 7-81 (Adil Rashid-13.6 ov), 8-95 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar-17.5 ov)

Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Harry Brook, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips (wicket-keeper), Umran Malik, Adil Rashid, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (captain), T Natarajan, Fazalhaq Farooqi; Subs: Abdul Samad, Mayank Dagar, Upendra Yadav, Mayank Markande, Vivrant Sharma

Impact player: Abdul Samad for Fazalhaq Farooqi (Sunrisers Hyderabad 1st innings, 9.3 ov)

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Riyan Parag, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jason Holder, Trent Boult, KM Asif, Yuzvendra Chahal; Subs: Sandeep Sharma, Donavon Ferreira, Dhruv Jurel, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin

Impact player: Navdeep Saini for Yashasvi Jaiswal (Sunrisers Hyderabad 1st innings, 10.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad, elected to field
Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Rohan Pandit (On-field Umpires); Navdeep Singh (TV Umpire); Abhijit Bhattacharya (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)

Share With Us