Online Cricket ID News

Pooran, Stoinis star in Lucknow's last ball win

Pooran, Stoinis star in Lucknow's last ball win

Pooran, Stoinis star in Lucknow's last ball win

Lucknow Super Giants pulled off a sensational win off the last ball with a ball to spare to beat host Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Monday.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 212 for two in their 20 overs and in their response Lucknow chased down the target off the last ball to finish on 213 for nine.

Earlier, Bangalore started off well with their openers Virat Kohli and skipper Faf du Plessis putting on 96. Kohli fell first for 61 off 44 balls with four boundaries and four sixes. Then du Plessis teamed up with Glenn Maxwell to put on 115 runs for the second wicket. du Plessis remained unbeaten on 79 off 46 balls with five boundaries and five sixes. Maxwel fell for 59 off 29 balls with three boundaries and six sixes. In the end Bangalore finished on 212 for two in their 20 overs.

In their response Lucknow was reduced to 23 for three in four overs. Skipper Lokesh Rahul and Marcus Stoinis put on 76 runs for the fourth wicket. Rahul was slow in his approach, but Stoinis took off. Stoinis finished on 65 off 30 balls with six boundaries and five sixes. Then Nicholas Pooran teamed up with impact player Ayush Badoni to put on 84 runs for the sixth wicket. Pooran made a rollicking 62 off 19 balls with four boundaries and seven sixes. Badoni fell in the 19th over and the chase appeared to be shaky. In the last over, two wickets fell to further queer the chase. Off the last ball, Avesh Khan and Ravi Bishnoi scampered to score the winning run. Lucknow finished on 213 for nine in their 20 overs. For Bangalore the best bowlers were Mohammed Siraj (3-22) and Wayne Parnell (3-41).

Match Summary
Royal Challengers Bangalore: 212-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-96 (Virat Kohli-11.3 ov), 2-211 (Glenn Maxwell-19.5 ov)


Lucknow Super Giants: 213-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Kyle Mayers-0.3 ov), 2-23 (Deepak Hooda-3.4 ov), 3-23 (Krunal Pandya-3.6 ov), 4-99 (Marcus Stoinis-10.4 ov), 5-105 (KL Rahul-11.1 ov), 6-189 (Nicholas Pooran-16.6 ov), 7-206 (Ayush Badoni-18.4 ov), 8-209 (Mark Wood-19.2 ov), 9-212 (Jaydev Unadkat-19.5 ov)

Playing XIs
Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (captain), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Jaydev Unadkat, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Mark Wood, Ravi Bishnoi; Subs: Ayush Badoni, Daniel Sams, Prerak Mankad, Swapnil Singh, Krishanppa Gowtham

Impact player: Ayush Badoni for Amit Mishra (1st innings, 15.6 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (captain), Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Anuj Rawat, David Wille, Wayne Parnell, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj; Subs: Karn Sharma, Suyash Prabhudessai, Akash Deep, Michael Bracewell, Sonu Yadav

Impact player: Karn Sharma for Anuj Rawat (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Lucknow Super Giants, electd to field
Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nand Kishore (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Daniel Manohar (Match-referee)

Share With Us