Online Cricket ID News

New Zealand crush Sri Lanka by 198 runs in 1st ODI

New Zealand crush Sri Lanka by 198 runs in 1st ODI

New Zealand crush Sri Lanka by 198 runs in 1st ODI

Although Chamika Karunaratne claimed four wickets, in a career-best bowling display, Sri Lanka were crushed by New Zealand by 198 runs, as New Zealand's Henry Shipley took 5-31, in the 1st ODI, in Auckland, on Saturday.

Match Summary

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI, Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand

New Zealand 274/10 (49.3 ov)

Sri Lanka 76/10 (19.5 ov)

Result - New Zealand won by 198 runs

Match Report

Henry Shipley tore through Sri Lanka's batting line-up as New Zealand romped to a 198-run win in the first one-day international in Auckland on Saturday.

Playing just his fourth match for the Black Caps, tall seamer Shipley took 5-31 as the tourists were skittled for 76 at Eden Park, their lowest ODI score against New Zealand.

Sri Lanka's capitulation in just 19.5 overs was their fifth-heaviest loss by runs to any ODI opponent, and New Zealand's seventh-biggest win.

The visitors never recovered after slumping to 31-5, with only three batters reaching double figures, including top scorer Angelo Mathews (18).

It comes just two months after Sri Lanka's world-record 317-run loss to India in Thiruvananthapuram -- when they were skittled for 73.

Their batters succumbed to a series of loose shots allowing Shipley to claim New Zealand's first five-wicket bag in the format for more than four years.

The 26-year-old worried his opponents with steep bounce and pace, prompting a series of shots to be lofted aimlessly to waiting fielders.

Daryl Mitchell took 2-12 and Matt Henry 2-20 in an innings that lasted little more than an hour and a half.

Earlier, Chamika Karunaratne claimed four wickets in a career-best bowling display for Sri Lanka as New Zealand were dismissed for 274 after being asked to bat.

Opener Finn Allen top-scored with 51 but he was one of several Black Caps guilty of not pushing on after making a start.

Allen's 49-ball knock helped the hosts into a strong position with nearly half of their overs remaining. But they lost their way over the latter stages and were dismissed with three balls remaining.

Karunaratne took 4-43 off nine overs, with New Zealand's batsmen mostly falling to shots that ballooned into the outfield.

All-rounder Rachin Ravindra departed late in the innings for 49 on his ODI debut while Mitchell scored 47 and Glenn Phillips 39.

Seamers Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara, who both played in Sri Lanka's 2-0 Test series loss to New Zealand, took two wickets each.

The tourists needed a clean sweep of the three-match series to take an automatic World Cup berth.

With that no longer a possibility, they are increasingly likely to be forced to play in a qualifying tournament in June-July.

Match Stats


New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Chad Bowes - 5.2 ov), 2-71 (Will Young - 12.3 ov), 3-108 (Finn Allen - 18.5 ov), 4-147 (Tom Latham - 26.2 ov), 5-152 (Daryl Mitchell - 29.4 ov), 6-218 (Glenn Phillips - 39.2 ov), 7-240 (Henry Shipley - 44.1 ov), 8-240 (Matt Henry - 44.3 ov), 9-265 (Rachin Ravindra - 47.6 ov), 10-274 (Ish Sodhi - 49.3 ov)

Sri Lanka Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Nuwanidu Fernando - 2.1 ov), 2-14 (Pathum Nissanka - 3.3 ov), 3-20 (Kusal Mendis - 7.1 ov), 4-31 (Charith Asalanka - 9.3 ov), 5-31 (Dasun Shanaka - 9.4 ov), 6-46 (Angelo Mathews - 13.2 ov), 7-49 (Wanindu Hasaranga - 14.1 ov), 8-57 (Kasun Rajitha - 16.3 ov), 9-62 (Chamika Karunaratne - 18.4 ov), 10-76 (Lahiru Kumara - 19.5 ov)


Playing XIs

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Chad Bowes, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(WK/C), Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Henry Shipley, Blair Tickner

Sri Lanka:, Nuwanidu Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(WK), Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka(C), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka


Match Details:

Date: Saturday, March 25, 2023 01:00

Venue: Eden Park, Auckland, Auckland

Toss: Sri Lanka elected to bowl

Officials: Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand) Wayne Knights (New Zealand) Chris Brown (New Zealand TV)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

Share With Us