Online Cricket ID News

Narine, Venkatesh lead KKR beating RCB by 7 wickets

Narine, Venkatesh lead KKR beating RCB by 7 wickets
IPL 2024

Narine, Venkatesh lead KKR beating RCB by 7 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders became the first team in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season to win an away game as they beat Royal Challengers Bengaluru by seven wickets on Friday.

Match Summary

Challengers Bengaluru vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Match 10

Royal Challengers Bengaluru 182/6 (20 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders 186/3 (16.5 ov)

Result - Kolkata Knight Riders won by 7 wickets

Match Analysis

At the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru after being asked to bat posted 182 for six in their 20 overs. Kolkata in response chases down the target in 16.5 overs to finish on 186 for three.

For Bengaluru Virat Kohli carried his bat through with an unbeaten 83 off 59 balls laced with four boundaries and four sixes. Kohli shared a 65 run second wicket stand with Cameron Green. Towards the end Kohli and Dinesh Karthik teamed up to propel the team to a respectable score. For Kolkata the best bowlers were Harshit Rana (2-39) and Andre Russell (2-29).

In their response Kolkata were off to a blazing start as Phil Salt and Sunil Narine added a brisk 86 in just 6.3 overs. Then Venkatesh Iyer ( 50: 30b, 3x4, 4x6) teamed up with skipper Shreyas Iyer to lead the Kolkata closer to the target with a 75 run third wicket stand. Kolkata ended on 186 for three in 16.5 overs. 

Match Stats

Royal Challengers Bengaluru Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Faf du Plessis - 1.6 ov), 2-82 (Cameron Green - 8.6 ov), 3-124 (Glenn Maxwell - 14.1 ov), 4-144 (Rajat Patidar - 16.3 ov), 5-151 (Anuj Rawat - 17.3 ov), 6-182 (Dinesh Karthik - 19.6 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Sunil Narine - 6.3 ov), 2-92 (Philip Salt - 7.5 ov), 3-167 (Venkatesh Iyer - 15.1 ov)

Match Details:

Date: Friday, March 29, 2024 14:00

Venue: M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (India) Rohan Pandit (India) Bruce Oxenford (Australia TV)

Match Referee: Manu Nayar (India)

Share With Us