Online Cricket ID News

Mumbai spoil Punjab's party in their den

Mumbai spoil Punjab's party in their den

Mumbai spoil Punjab's party in their den

Mumbai Indians chased down yet another 200 plus target as they beat Punjab Kings by six wickets at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Wednesday.

Asked to bat, Punjab posted 214 for three in their 20 overs and in their response Mumbai finished on 216 for four in 18.5 overs.

Earlier, Punjab was well served by a 49 run second wicket stand between skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Matthew Short. Both fell in quick succession. But soon after Liam Livingstone and Jitesh Sharma teamed up for a fantastic fourth wicket stand. The pair put on 119 runs for the fourth wicket in an unbroken stand. Livingstone finished unbeaten on 82 off 42 balls with seven boundaries and four sixes. Sharma finished on 49 off 27 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. In the end Punjab finished on 214 for three in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowler was Piyush Chawla (2-29).

In their response Mumbai lost their skipper Rohit Sharma for a duck. Then Ishan Kishan teamed up with Cameron Green to add 54 for the second wicket. Green fell for 23 off 18 balls. Thereafter Kishan joined forces with Suryakumar Yadav. This pair added 116 runs for the third wicket. Kishan made 75 off 41 balls with seven boundaries and four sixes. Yadav made 66 off 31 balls with eight boundaries and two sixes. Towards the end Tim David and Tilak Varma added an unbroken 48 runs for the fifth wicket. In the end Mumbai overhauled the target in 18.5 overs to finish on 216 for four. For Punjab the best bowler was Nathan Ellis (2-34).

Match Summary

Punjab Kings: 214-3 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Prabhsimran Singh-1.3 ov), 2-62 (Shikhar Dhawan-7.2 ov), 3-95 (Matthew Short-11.2 ov)  

Mumbai Indians: 216-4 (18.5)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Rohit Sharma-0.3 ov), 2-54 (Cameron Green- 5.6 ov), 3-170 (Suryakumar Yadav-15.1 ov), 4-178 (Ishan Kishan-16.1 ov) 

Playing XIs


Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prabhsimran Singh, Matthew Short, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Sam Curran, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Rishi Dhawan, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh; Subs: Nathan Ellis, Sikandar Raza, Atharva Taide, Mohit Rathee, Shivam Singh

Impact player: Nathan Ellis for Prabhsimran Singh (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Piyush Chawla, Jofra Archer, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal, Arshad Khan; Subs: Suryakumar Yadav, Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, Vishnu Vinod, Ramandeep Singh

Impact player: Suryakumar Yadav for Akash Madhwal (2nd innings, 5.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Rod Tucker (On-field Umpires); Akshay Totre (TV Umpire); Mohamed Rafi (Reserve Umpire); Sanjay Raul (Match-referee)

Share With Us