Online Cricket ID News

Mumbai is SKY high on third spot

Mumbai is SKY high on third spot

Mumbai is SKY high on third spot

Mumbai Indians raced to the third spot in the IPL 2023 points table after they beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by six wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday.

After being asked to bat, Bangalore posted 199 for six in their 20 overs and in their response Mumbai finished on 200 for four in 16.3 overs.

Earlier, Bangalore was struggling at 16 for two in 2.2 overs. Then skipper Faf du Plessis and Glenn Maxwell teamed up very well. Together the pair added 120 runs for the third wicket. Maxwell finished on 68 off 33 balls with eight boundaries and four sixes. du Plessis then fell for 65 off 41 balls with five boundaries and three sixes. Towards the end Dinesh Karthik used the long handle as he was dismissed for 30 off 18 balls with four boundaries and a six. Bangalore finished on 199 for six in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowler was Jason Behrendorff (3-36).

In their response, Mumbai had a good start as Ishan Kishan teamed up with skipper Rohit Sharma to add 51 for the first wicket. Then there was mayhem as Suryakumar Yadav went beserk in the company of Nehal Wadhera. The Yadav-Wadhera pair added 140 runs for the third wicket. Yadav finished on 83 off 35 balls with seven boundaries and six sixes. Wadhera remained unbeaten towards the end as he made 52 off 34 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Mumbai overhauled the target in 16.3 overs to finish on 200 for four. For Bangalore the successful bowlers were Wanindu Hasaranga (2-53) and Vijaykumar Vyshak (2-37). 

Match Summary


Royal Challengers Bangalore: 199-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Virat Kohli-0.5 ov), 2-16 (Anuj Rawat-2.2 ov), 3-136 (Glenn Maxwell-12.3 ov), 4-143 (Mahipal Lomror-13.4 ov), 5-146 (Faf du Plessis-14.1 ov), 6-185 (Dinesh Karthik-18.1 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 200-4 (16.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-51 (Ishan Kishan-4.4 ov), 2-52 (Rohit Sharma-4.6 ov), 3-192 (Suryakumar Yadav-15.4 ov), 4-192 (Tim David-15.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Piyush Chawla, Chris Jordan, Jason Behrendorff, Kumar Kartikeya Singh, Aakash Madhwal; Subs: Ramandeep Singh, Tristan Stubbs, Vishnu Vinod, Sandeep Warrier, Raghav Goyal

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Anuj Rawat, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Mohammed Siraj, Vyshak Vijaykumar, Harshal Patel; Subs: Kedar Jadhav, Michael Bracewell, Suyash Prabhudessai, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed

Impact player: Kedar Jadhav for Mahipal Lomror (1st innings, 14.1 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Saiyed Khalid, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); VM Dhokre (Reserve Umpire); Reetinder Sodhi (Match-referee)

Share With Us