Online Cricket ID News

Moeen puts Chennai back on track

Moeen puts Chennai back on track

Moeen puts Chennai back on track

Chennai Super Kings brought their campaign back on track with a 12 run win over Lucknow Super Giants at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Monday.

Asked to bat, Chennai posted 217 for seven in their 20 overs and in response Lucknow finished on 205 for seven in their 20 overs.

Chennai began well thanks to their openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway. Gaikwad and Conway put on 110 for the first wicket. Gaikwad fell for 57 off 31 balls with three boundaries and four sixes. Conway made 47 off 29 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. There were crucial partnerships towards the close as Chennai kept building up the score. Towards the end skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni struck two lusty blows. Chennai ended on 217 for seven in their 20 overs. For Lucknow the best bowlers were Mark Wood (3-49) and Ravi Bishnoi (3-28).

In their response Lucknow began well as their openers skipper Lokesh Rahul and Kyle Mayers put on 79. Mayers made his second successive half-century as he ended on 53 off 22 balls with eight boundaries and two sixes. Lucknow slipped from 79 for no loss to 82 for three. Then the innings lost shape. Marcus Stoinis and Nicholas Pooran tried to repair the innings, but it was not enough. Ayush Badoni in as an impact player teamed up with Krishnappa Gowtham, but it was not enough. In the end Lucknow finished on 205 for seven in their 20 overs. For Chennai the best bowlers were Moeen Ali (4-26) and Tushar Deshpande (2-45). 

Match Summary
Chennai Super Kings: 217-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-110 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-9.1 ov), 2-118 (Devon Conway-10.2 ov), 3-150 (Shivam Dube-13.5 ov), 4-166 (Moeen Ali-15.2 ov), 5-178 (Ben Stokes-16.6 ov), 6-203 (Ravindra Jadeja-19.1 ov), 7-215 (MS Dhoni-19.4 ov)


Chennai Super Kings: 205-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-79 (Kyle Mayers-5.3 ov), 2-82 (Deepak Hooda-6.6 ov), 3-82 (KL Rahul-7.2 ov), 4-105 (Krunal Pandya-9.6 ov), 5-130 (Marcus Stoinis-13.2 ov), 6-156 (Nicholas Pooran-15.6 ov), 7-195 (Ayush Badoni-19.3 ov)

Playing XI
Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (captain), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Ayush Badoni, Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, 10 Yash Thakur, Mark Wood; Subs: Ayush Badoni, Jaydev Unadkat, Daniel Sams, Prerak Mankad, Amit Mishra

Impact player: Ayush Badoni for Avesh Khan (1st innings, 18.6 ov)

Chennai Super Kings: Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Rajvardhan Hangargekar; Subs: Tushar Deshpande, Dwaine Pretorius, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, Ajinkya Rahane

Impact player: Tushar Deshpande for Ambati Rayudu (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Lucknow Super Giants, elected to field
Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Akshay Totre, Bruce Oxenford (On-field Umpires); Ulhas Gandhe (TV Umpire); Pranav Joshi (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

Share With Us