Online Cricket ID News

Miller, Manohar and Ahmad star as Gujarat race ahead

Miller, Manohar and Ahmad star as Gujarat race ahead

Miller, Manohar and Ahmad star as Gujarat race ahead

Gujarat Titans moved to second spot in the Indian Premier League 2023 points table as they beat Mumbai Indians by 55 runs at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Tuesday.

Gujarat, after being asked to bat, posted 207 for six in their 20 overs and in response Mumbai finished on 152 for nine in their 20 overs.

Gujarat was well served by a 38 run second wicket stand between Shubman Gill and skipper Hardik Pandya. Then Gill added 41 runs for the third wicket with Vijay Shankar. Gill finished on 56 off 34 balls with seven boundaries and a six. Thereafter, David Miller and Abhinav Manohar added 71 runs for the fifth wicket. Miller (46) and Manohar (42) propelled the scoring very well. Towards the end Rahul Tewatia made a quickfire 20 off just five balls with three sixes. Gujarat finished on 207 for six in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowler was Piyush Chawla (2-34).

Mumbai lost their skipper Rohit Sharma early. Then a 39 run second wicket stand between Ishan Kishan and Cameron Green revived the chase. Then the innings suffered a collapse as they went from 43 for one to 59 for five. Then a 31 run sixth wicket stand between Suryakumar Yadav and Nehal Wadhera delayed the inevitable. Wadhera and Piyush Chawla added 45 runs for the seventh wicket. Towards the end Mumbai lost wickets in a heap and they finished on 152 for nine in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the best bowlers were Noor Ahmad (3-37), Rashid Khan (2-27) and Mohit Sharma (2-38).

Match Summary


Gujarat Titans: 207-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Wriddhiman Saha-2.1 ov), 2-50 (Hardik Pandya-6.1 ov), 3-91 (Shubman Gill-11.1 ov), 4-101 (Vijay Shankar-12.2 ov), 5-172 (Abhinav Manohar-18.1 ov), 6-205 (David Miller-19.5 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 152-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Rohit Sharma-1.6 ov), 2-43 (Ishan Kishan-7.3 ov), 3-45 (Tilak Varma-7.6 ov), 4-59 (Cameron Green-10.2 ov), 5-59 (Tim David-10.4 ov), 6-90 (Suryakumar Yadav-12.6 ov), 7-135 (Piyush Chawla-17.1 ov), 8-137 (Nehal Wadhera-17.4 ov), 9-152 (Arjun Tendulkar-19.4 ov)

Playing XIs

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (captain), Abhinav Manohar, Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad, Mohit Sharma; Subs: Josh Little, Dasun Shanaka, R Sai Kishore, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi

Concussion sub: Josh Little for Shubman Gill (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Riley Meredith, Arjun Tendulkar, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff; Subs: Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Shams Mulani, Vishnu Vinod, Sandeep Warrier

Impact player: Tilak Varma for Kumar Kartikeya (2nd innings, 7.3 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nand Kishore (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Mohit Krishnadas (Reserve Umpire); Satyajit Satbhai (Match-Referee)

Share With Us