Online Cricket ID News

Mayers' blitz and Wood's pace down Delhi

Mayers' blitz and Wood's pace down Delhi

Mayers' blitz and Wood's pace down Delhi

Lucknow Supergiants got the better of Delhi Capitals by 50 runs in their opening Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 clash at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee Stadium in Lucknow on Saturday night.

Asked to bat Lucknow made 193 for six in their 20 overs and in response Delhi Capitals finished on 143 for nine in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Lucknow started off poorly as skipper Lokesh Rahul was dismissed early. Then Kyle Mayers teamed up with Deepak Hooda to add 79 runs for the second wicket. Mayers finished on 73 off just 38 balls with two boundaries and seven sixes. There was a brief collapse. Then the likes of Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya and Marcus Stoinis played crucial knocks. Towards the end Pooran finished on 36 off 21 balls with two boundaries and three sixes. In the end Ayush Badoni swung the bat around. Off the last ball impact player Krishnappa Gowtham came in place of Badoni and struck a six. Lucknow finished on 193 for six in their 20 overs. For Delhi the successful bowlers were Khaleel Ahmed (2-30) and Chetan Sakariya (2-53).

In their response, Delhi started off well with their openers Prithvi Shaw and skipper David Warner putting on 41. But then there was a collapse as Delhi slipped to 48 for three thanks to Mark Wood's express pace. Then Warner put on 38 runs for the fourth wicket with Rilee Rossouw. Warner battled alone as wickets fell around him. Warner finished on 56 off 48 balls with seven boundaries. Towards the end Delhi finished on 143 for nine in their 20 overs. For Lucknow the best bowlers were Mark Wood (5-14), Avesh Khan (2-29) and Ravi Bishnoi (2-31).

Match Summary
Lucknow Supergiants: 193-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (KL Rahul-3.6 ov), 2-98 (Deepak Hooda-10.6 ov), 3-100 (Kyle Mayers-11.3 ov), 4-117 (Marcus Stoinis-14.1 ov), 5-165 (Nicholas Pooran-18.3 ov), 6-187 (Ayush Badoni-19.5 ov)


Delhi Capitals: 143-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Prithvi Shaw-4.3 ov), 2-41 (Mitchell Marsh-4.4 ov), 3-48 (Sarfaraz Khan-6.6 ov), 4-86 (Rilee Rossouw-11.6 ov), 5-94 (Rovman Powell-13.4 ov), 6-112 (Aman Hakim Khan-15.3 ov), 7-113 (David Warner-15.6 ov), 8-139 (Axar Patel-19.1 ov), 9-143 (Chetan Sakariya-19.5 ov)

Playing XIs
Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (captain), Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Ayush Badoni, Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, Kyle Mayers, Avesh Khan, Mark Wood, Ravi Bishnoi, Jaydev Unadkat; Subs: Daniel Sams, Krishnappa Gowtham, Amit Mishra, Prerak Mankad, Yash Thakur.

Impact player: Krishnappa Gowtham for Ayush Badoni (Lucknow Super Giants 1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals: Sarfaraz Khan (wicket-keeper), David Warner (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Rovman Powell, Rilee Rossouw, Mitchell Marsh, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya, Mukesh Kumar; Subs: Aman Khan, Pravin Dubey, Manish Pandey, Lalit Yadav, Abhishek Porel. 

Impact player: Aman Hakim Khan for Khaleel Ahmed (Lucknow Super Giants 1st innings, 18.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nikhil Patwardhan (On-field Umpires); Sadashiv Iyer (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Daniel Manohar (Match-referee)

Share With Us