Online Cricket ID News

Kolkata snatch last ball thriller at Eden Gardens

Kolkata snatch last ball thriller at Eden Gardens

Kolkata snatch last ball thriller at Eden Gardens

Kolkata Knight Riders snatched a famous last ball win as they beat Punjab Kings by five wickets at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Monday.

After opting to bat, Punjab posted 179 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response Kolkata finished on 182 for five in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Punjab was reduced to 29 for two. Then skipper Shikhar Dhawan teamed up with Liam Livingstone to add 24 runs for the third wicket. Dhawan then added a further 53 runs for the fourth wicket with Jitesh Sharma. Dhawan finished on 57 off 47 balls with nine boundaries and a six. Then towards the end Shahrukh Khan added 40 runs for the eighth wicket with Harpreet Brar to help swell the score. Punjab finished on 179 for seven in their 20 overs. For Kolkata the best bowlers were Varun Chakravarthy (3-26) and Harshit Rana (2-33).

In their response, Kolkata started off well with openers Jason Roy and Rahmanullah Gurbaz adding 38. Then skipper Nitish Rana teamed up with Venkatesh Iyer to add 51 runs for the third wicket. Rana made 51 off 38 balls with six boundaries and a six. Then Andre Russell added 54 runs for the fifth wicket with Rinku Singh. Russell smoked two successive sixes in the 19th over off Sam Curran. In the last over Kolkata needed six runs for a win. Russell was run out off the penultimate ball. Then off the last ball Rinku Singh struck a boundary to seal Kolkata's win. Kolkata finished on 182 for five in their 20 overs. For Punjab the best bowler was Rahul Chahar (2-23). 

Match Summary
Punjab Kings: 179-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Prabhsimran Singh-1.6 ov), 2-29 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-3.4 ov), 3-53 (Liam Livingstone-5.3 ov), 4-106 (Jitesh Sharma-12.3 ov), 5-119 (Shikhar Dhawan-14.4 ov), 6-139 (Rishi Dhawan-16.5 ov), 7-139 (Sam Curran-17.2 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders: 182-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-4.4 ov), 2-64 (Jason Roy-7.2 ov), 3-115 (Venkatesh Iyer-13.4 ov), 4-124 (Nitish Rana-15.2 ov), 5-178 (Andre Russell-19.5 ov)

Match Stats


Playing XI
Kolkata Knight Riders: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana (captain), Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy, Suyash Sharma; Subs: Jason Roy, Anukul Roy, Narayan Jagadeesan, Lockie Ferguson, Kulwant Khejroliya

Impact player: Jason Roy for Suyash Sharma (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Punjab Kings: Prabhsimran Singh, Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Sam Curran, M Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Rishi Dhawan, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh; Subs: Nathan Ellis, Sikandar Raza, Atharva Taide, Mohit Rathee, Matthew Short

Impact player: Nathan Ellis for Bhanuka Rajapaksa (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Punjab Kings, elected to bat
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Akshay Totre, Jayaraman Madanagopal (On-field Umpires); Ulhas Gandhe (TV Umpire); Mohamed Rafi (Reserve Umpire); Sanjay Raul (Match-referee)

Share With Us