Online Cricket ID News

Jaiswal's epic knock goes in vain in 1000th match

Jaiswal's epic knock goes in vain in 1000th match

Jaiswal's epic knock goes in vain in 1000th match

Mumbai Indians thrashed Rajasthan Royals by six wickets to win the 1000th encounter of IPL in grand style at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday night.

After opting to bat, Rajasthan posted 212 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response Mumbai finished on 214 for four in 19.3 overs.

The hero of Mumbai's batting was their opener Yashasvi Jaiswal. The young left-hander added 72 for the first wicket with Jos Buttler. Then he carried the bat through the innings. He did not have any worthwhile support for a while. Jaiswal added 40 runs with Jason Holder for the fourth wicket. Later towards the end he added 37 runs for the seventh wicket with Ravichandran Ashwin. Jaiswal made 124 off 62 balls with 16 boundaries and eight sixes. Rajasthan finished on 212 for seven in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Arshad Khan (3-39) and Piyush Chawla (2-34).

In their response Mumbai was well served by a 62 rn second wicket stand between Ishan Kishan and Cameron Green. Green made 44 off 26 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. Then Suryakumar Yadav added 51 runs for the fourth wicket with Tilak Varma. Yadav made 55 off just 29 balls with eight boundaries and two sixes. Then towards the end Varma added 62 runs for the fifth wicket in an unbroken stand with Tim David. In the 20th over, Mumbai needed 17 runs off six balls. David struck three sixes off the first three balls to finish the game in Mumbai's favour. For Rajasthan the best bowler was Ashwin (2-27).

Match Summary

Mumbai Indians: 212-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-72 (Jos Buttler-7.1 ov), 2-95 (Sanju Samson-9.5 ov), 3-103 (Devdutt Padikkal-10.5 ov), 4-143 (Jason Holder-14.1 ov), 5-159 (Shimron Hetmyer-16.2 ov), 6-168 (Dhruv Jurel-17.1 ov), 7-205 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-19.4 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 214-4 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Rohit Sharma-1.6 ov), 2-76 (Ishan Kishan-8.2 ov), 3-101 (Cameron Green-10.4 ov), 4-152 (Suryakumar Yadav-15.4 ov)

Playing XIs


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Jofra Archer, Piyush Chawla, Kumar Kartikeya, Riley Meredith, Arshad Khan; Subs: Nehal Wadhera, Ramandeep Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Shams Mulani, Arjun Tendulkar

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper & captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jason Holder, Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal; Subs: Donovan Ferreira, M Ashwin, Riyan Parag, Kuldip Yadav, Kuldeep Sen

Impact player: Kuldeep Sen for Dhruv Jurel (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Rajasthan Royals, elected to bat
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Vinod Seshan, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Tapan Sharma (TV Umpire); VM Dhokre (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

Share With Us