Online Cricket ID News

Jadeja, Rahane star as Chennai down Mumbai

Jadeja, Rahane star as Chennai down Mumbai

Jadeja, Rahane star as Chennai down Mumbai

Chennai Super Kings registered their second successive win in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season as they beat host Mumbai Indians by seven wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday night.

Asked to bat, Mumbai posted 157 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response Chennai finished on 159 for three in 18.1 overs.

Earlier, Mumbai started cautiously through their openers captain Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan. Then there was a collapse as Mumbai slipped from 64 for one to 76 for five. Then Tilak Varma tried to revive the innings. Tim David then used the long handle to good effect as he slammed 31 off 22 balls with one boundary and two sixes. In the end Mumbai finished on 157 for eight in their 20 overs. For Chennai the best bowlers were Ravindra Jadeja (3-20), Mitchell Santner (2-28) and Tushar Deshpande (2-31).

In their response, Chennai lost Devon Conway in the first over. Then something spectacular happened as Ajinkya Rahane and Ruturaj Gaikwad completely transformed the innings. Rahane and Gaikwad added 82 runs for the second wicket. Rahane finished on 61 off 27 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. Then Gaikwad added 43 runs for the third wicket with Shivam Dube. Towards the end Gaikwad remained unbeaten on 40 off 36 balls with two boundaries and one six. In the end Chennai overhauled the target in 18.1 overs to finish on 159 for three. 

Match Summary
Mumbai Indians: 157-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Rohit Sharma-3.6 ov), 2-64 (Ishan Kishan-6.4 ov), 3-67 (Suryakumar Yadav-7.2 ov), 4-73 (Cameron Green-8.2 ov), 5-76 (Arshad Khan-9.1 ov), 6-102 (Tilak Varma-12.6 ov), 7-113 (Tristan Stubbs-15.6 ov), 8-131 (Tim David-16.6 ov)

Chennai Super Kings: 159-3 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Devon Conway-0.4 ov), 2-82 (Ajinkya Rahane-7.6 ov), 3-125 (Shivam Dube-14.2 ov)

Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Cameron Green, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Tristan Stubbs, Tim David, Arshad Khan, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff; Subs: Ramandeep Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Arjun Tendulkar, Kumar Karthikeya, Nehal Wadhera

Chennai Super Kings: Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), 7 Dwaine Pretorius, 8 Deepak Chahar, 9 Mitchell Santner, 10 Sisanda Magala, 11 Tushar Deshpande; Subs: Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ambati Rayudu, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh, Subhranshu Senapati

Match Details
Toss: Chennai Super Kings, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Nikhil Patwardhan (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Daniel Manohar (Match-referee)

Share With Us