Online Cricket ID News

India take unassailable lead in T20I series

India take unassailable lead in T20I series

India take unassailable lead in T20I series

India defeated Australia by 20 runs in the fourth T20I to take an unassailable lead of 3-1 in the series.

Match Summary

India vs Australia, 4th Match

India 174/9 (20 ov)


Australia 154/7 (20 ov)

Result - India won by 20 runs.

The match took place at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur. India was asked to bat first and they posted 174 for nine whereas Australia could only manage 154 for seven.

India was off to a flier in the fourth T20I as Yashasvi Jaiswal (37:28b, 6x4, 1x6) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (32:28b, 3x4, 1x6) added 50 runs for the opening partnership. But after that, they struggled a bit and were tumbling at 63 for three.

Rinku Singh (46:29b, 4x4, 2x6) and Gaikwad added 48 runs for the fourth wicket to bring India back into the game. Jitesh Sharma (35:19b, 1x4, 3x6) played a brutal cameo at the end that powered India to a total of 174 for nine. For Australia, Ben Dwarshuis picked three wickets whereas Jason Behrendroff and Tanveer Sangha bagged two wickets each.

Australia was off to a brutal start as Travis Head (31:16b, 5x4, 1x6) and Josh Phillippe (8:7b, 2x4) added 40 runs for the opening partnership. However, after that, no batter could get going as India's spinners were all over them.

Australia was reduced to 87 for four. Matthew Short (22:19b, 2x4, 1x6) tried to play some strokes but perished at a crucial juncture. Skipper Matthew Wade (36 not out: 23b, 2x4, 2x6) gave his best but he didn’t get the desired support as India restricted them to 154 for seven to win the game by 20 runs.


Match Stats

India Fall of wickets: 1-50 (Yashasvi Jaiswal - 5.6 ov), 2-62 (Shreyas Iyer - 7.5 ov), 3-63 (Suryakumar Yadav - 8.1 ov), 4-111 (Ruturaj Gaikwad - 13.2 ov), 5-167 (Jitesh Sharma - 18.4 ov), 6-168 (Axar Patel - 18.5 ov), 7-168 (Rinku Singh - 19.1 ov), 8-169 (Deepak Chahar - 19.3 ov), 9-174 (Ravi Bishnoi - 19.6 ov)

Australia Fall of wickets: 1-40 (Josh Philippe - 3.1 ov), 2-44 (Travis Head - 4.4 ov), 3-52 (Aaron Hardie - 6.2 ov), 4-87 (Ben McDermott - 11.2 ov), 5-107 (Tim David - 14.4 ov), 6-126 (Matthew Short - 16.4 ov), 7-133 (Ben Dwarshuis - 17.3 ov)

Match Details

Date - 2023-12-01 13:30:00

Venue - Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur

Toss - Australia elected to bowl

Umpires - Jayaraman Madanagopal (India), KN Ananthapadmanabhan (I Ananthapadndia), Virender Sharma (India TV)

Match Referee - Rohan Pandit (India)

Share With Us