Online Cricket ID News

India bowlers rule the roost on batters' day in Thiruvananthapuram

India bowlers rule the roost on batters' day in Thiruvananthapuram

India bowlers rule the roost on batters' day in Thiruvananthapuram

India took a 2-0 lead in the series as they pounded Australia by 44 runs in the second T20I at the Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram.

India vs Australia, 2nd Match, Australia tour of India

India 235/4 (20 ov)

Australia 191/9 (20 ov)

Result - India won by 44 runs

Asked to bat first, Men in Blue ended with 235 for four whereas Australia could manage 191 for nine.

India was off to a flying start as Yashasvi Jaiswal (53:25b, 9x4, 2x6) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (58:43b, 3x4, 2x6) added 77 runs for the opening partnership inside the powerplay. Gaikwad played the anchor role well whereas batters around him played brutal knocks.

Ishan Kishan (52:32b, 3x4, 4x6) slammed his second consecutive half-century of the series whereas Suryakumar Yadav (19:10b, 2x6) and Rinku Singh (31 not out:9b, 4x4, 2x6) played vital knocks in the end. A combined effort powered India to a big total of 235 for four on the board.

Australia were off to a decent start as Matthew Short (19:10b, 3x4) and Steve Smith (19:16b, 1x4, 1x6) added 35 runs for the opening stand. But after that, they couldn’t get going as they lost wickets at regular intervals and were tumbling at 58 for four. But after that, Marcus Stoinis (45:25b, 2x4, 4x6) and Tim David (37:22b, 4x4, 2x6) gave a mini attack to Indian fans.

They added 81 runs for the fifth wicket. But Indian bowlers made a decent comeback. Although Matthew Wade (42 not out: 33b, 1x4, 2x6) played some hits in the end. But it wasn’t enough as India restricted Australia to 191 for nine and won the game by 44 runs. Ravi Bishnoi was the pick of bowlers with his figures of three for 32.

Match Stats


India Fall of wickets: 1-77 (Yashasvi Jaiswal - 5.5 ov), 2-164 (Ishan Kishan - 15.2 ov), 3-189 (Suryakumar Yadav - 17.4 ov), 4-221 (Ruturaj Gaikwad - 19.2 ov)

Australia Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Matthew Short - 2.5 ov), 2-39 (Josh Inglis - 4.2 ov), 3-53 (Glenn Maxwell - 5.5 ov), 4-58 (Steven Smith - 7.2 ov), 5-139 (Tim David - 13.3 ov), 6-148 (Marcus Stoinis - 14.4 ov), 7-149 (Sean Abbott - 15.1 ov), 8-152 (Nathan Ellis - 15.6 ov), 9-155 (Adam Zampa - 16.5 ov)

Match Details:

Date: Sunday, November 26, 2023 13:30

Venue: Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram

Toss: Australia elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Jayaraman Madanagopal (India) KN Anantha Padmanabhan (India) Nitin Menon (India TV)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)

Share With Us