Online Cricket ID News

Hyderabad register IPL record win over Mumbai

Hyderabad register IPL record win over Mumbai
IPL 2024

Hyderabad register IPL record win over Mumbai

Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Mumbai Indians to register their first win of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 as they won by 31 runs at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Tuesday

Match Summary

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians, Match 8

Sunrisers Hyderabad 277/3 (20 ov)

Mumbai Indians 246/5 (20 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 31 runs

Match Analysis

Asked to bat, Hyderabad posted a gigantic total of 277 for three, in their response Mumbai gave their best but couldn’t chase the target as they ended with 246 for five. 

Travis Head (62:24b, 9x4, 3x6) took Hyderabad off to a blazing start as he slammed a half-century in just 18 balls. However, Head's performance was overshadowed by Abhishek Sharma (63:23b, 3x4, 7x6) who hit a half-century off just 16 balls, fastest for Hyderabad in IPL history.

After that, Aiden Markram (42 not out:28b, 2x4, 1x6) and Heinrich Klaasen (80 not out: 34b, 4x4, 7x6) took the game away from Mumbai. The Klaasen-Markram pair added an unbeaten 116 runs that powered their team to a total of 277 for three, the highest total in IPL history. 

Rohit Sharma (26:12b, 1x4, 3x6) and Ishan Kishan (34:13b, 2x4, 4x6) made sure Mumbai got off to a brisk start. Sharma and Kishan added 56 runs for the opening wicket.

Naman Dhir (30:14b, 2x4, 2x6) and Tilak Verma (64:34b, 2x4, 6x6) then played valiant knocks. Dhir and Verma stitched 84 runs for the third wicket and made sure Mumbai coped up with the steep asking rate.

Thereafter, Mumbai couldn’t score runs freely. Hardik Pandya and Tim David failed to get going. Mumbai lost the game by 31 runs as they managed 246 for five. 


Match Stats

Sunrisers Hyderabad Fall of wickets: 1-45 (Mayank Agarwal - 4.1 ov), 2-113 (Travis Head - 7.5 ov), 3-161 (Abhishek Sharma - 10.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Ishan Kishan - 3.2 ov), 2-66 (Rohit Sharma - 4.3 ov), 3-150 (Naman Dhir - 10.4 ov), 4-182 (Tilak Varma - 14.1 ov), 5-224 (Hardik Pandya - 17.6 ov)

Match Details

Date - 2024-03-27 14:00:00

Venue - Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad

Toss - Mumbai Indians elected to bowl

Umpires - KN Ananthapadmanabhan(India), Ulhas Gandhe(India), Kumar Dharmasena(Sri Lanka TV)

Share With Us