Online Cricket ID News

Gujarat now firmly atop points table

Gujarat now firmly atop points table

Gujarat now firmly atop points table

Gujarat Titans consolidated their hold on the IPL 2023 points table as they beat Lucknow Super Giants by 56 runs at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

Asked to bat, Gujarat posted 227 for two in their 20 overs and in their response Lucknow finished on 171 for seven in 20 overs.

Earlier, Gujarat started brilliantly as their openers Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill added 142 for the first wicket. Saha was the first to fall as he made 81 off 43 balls with 10 boundaries and four sixes. Gill then took over as he added a further 42 runs with skipper Hardik Pandya. Then Gill carried the innings forward with David Miller. He added 43 runs for the third wicket with David Miller. Gill finished unbeaten on 94 off 51 balls with two boundaries and seven sixes. Gujarat finished on 227 for two in their 20 overs.

In their response, Lucknow began well as their openers Kyle Mayers and Quinton de Kock added 88 in 8.2 overs. Mayers (48) was the first to fall. Then de Kock carried the innings forward as he carried the bat. de Kock finished on 70 off 41 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. The innings never had any momentum. Ayush Badoni as the impact player did try his best but it was a little too late. In the end Lucknow finished on 171 for seven in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the best bowler was Mohit Sharma (4-29).

Match Summary

Gujarat Titans: 227-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-142 (Wriddhiman Saha-12.1 ov), 2-184 (Hardik Pandya-15.6 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: 171-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-88 (Kyle Mayers-8.2 ov), 2-114 (Deepak Hooda-12.2 ov), 3-130 (Marcus Stoinis-14.5 ov), 4-140 (Quinton de Kock-15.6 ov), 5-153 (Nicholas Pooran-17.2 ov), 6-166 (Ayush Badoni-18.5 ov), 7-166 (Krunal Pandya-18.6 ov)

Playing XIs


Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (captain), Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad; Subs: Alzarri Joseph, Dasun Shanaka, Srikar Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Jayant Yadav

Impact player: Alzarri Joseph for Shubman Gill (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya (captain), Swapnil Singh, Yash Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Avesh Khan; Subs: Ayush Badoni, Daniel Sams, Amit Mishra, Prerak Mankad, Yudhvir Singh Charak

Impact player: Ayush Badoni for Yash Thakur (2nd innings, 15.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Lucknow Super Giants, elected to field
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nand Kishore (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Mohit Krishnadas (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

Share With Us