Online Cricket ID News

Green's all-round show scripts Mumbai third straight win

Green's all-round show scripts Mumbai third straight win

Green's all-round show scripts Mumbai third straight win

Mumbai Indians registered their third straight win as they beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 14 runs at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

Asked to bat Mumbai posted 192 for five in their 20 overs and in response Hyderabad finished on 178 in 19.5 overs.

Earlier, Mumbai got off to a good start as skipper Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan put on 41. Then Kishan added 46 for the second wicket with Cameron Green. Thereafter, Green consolidated the innings with Tilak Varma as they put on 56 runs for the fourth wicket. Varma made 37 off 17 balls. Green then added 41 runs for the fifth wicket with Tim David. Green finished unbeaten on 64 off 40 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. For Hyderabad the most successful bowler was Marco Jansen (2-43).

In their response, Hyderabad was reduced to 25 for two. Then Mayank Agarwal added 46 runs for the third wicket with skipper Aiden Markram. Then Agarwal (48: 41b, 4x4, 1x6) added 55 runs for the fifth wicket with Heinrich Klaasen. It seemed like the innings was back on track. But a consistent fall of wickets derailed the chase completely. In the end Hyderabad was restricted to 178 in 19.5 overs. Tim David took four catches and also effected a run-out. For Mumbai the successful bowlers were Jason Behrendorff (2-37), Riley Meredith (2-33) and Piyush Chawla (2-43).

Match Summary

Mumbai Indians: 192-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Rohit Sharma-4.4 ov), 2-87 (Ishan Kishan-11.1 ov), 3-95 (Suryakumar Yadav-11.5 ov), 4-151 (Tilak Varma-16.3 ov), 5-192 (Tim David-19.6 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 178 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Harry Brook-1.4 ov), 2-25 (Rahul Tripathi-3.4 ov), 3-71 (Aiden Markram-8.4 ov), 4-72 (Abhishek Sharma-9.1 ov), 5-127 (Heinrich Klaasen-13.6 ov), 6-132 (Mayank Agarwal-14.5 ov), 7-149 (Marco Jansen-16.4 ov), 8-165 (Washington Sundar-17.5 ov), 9-174 (Abdul Samad-19.2 ov), 10-178 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar-19.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Cameron Green, Nehal Wadhera, Tim David, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Arjun Tendulkar, Jason Behrendoff; Subs: Riley Meredith, Ramandeep Singh, Kumar Kartikeya, Shams Mulani, Vishnu Vinod

Impact player: Riley Meredith for Tilak Varma (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Mayank Agarwal, Harry Brook, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram (captain), Abhishek Sharma, Heinrich Klaasen (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Marco Jansen, Mayank Markande, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan; Subs: Abdul Samad, Vivrant Sharma, Glenn Phillips, Mayank Dagar, Umran Malik

Impact player: Abdul Samad for T Natarajan (2nd innings, 13.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad, elected to field
Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Vinod Seshan (On-field Umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Abhijit Bengeri (Reserve Umpire); Shakti Singh (Match-referee)

Share With Us