Online Cricket ID News

du Plessis, Maxwell star for Bangalore

du Plessis, Maxwell star for Bangalore

du Plessis, Maxwell star for Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore held their nerves to beat Rajasthan Royals by seven runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL) encounter at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Sunday.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 189 for nine in their 20 overs and in their response Rajasthan finished on 182 for six in 20 overs.

Bangalore lost two wickets for 12 runs. Then Faf du Plessis added 127 runs for the second wicket with Glenn Maxwell. du Plessis was once again playing as an impact player. du Plessis finished on 62 off 39 balls with eight boundaries and two sixes. Maxwell made 77 off 44 balls with six boundaries and four sixes. Bangalore kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Bangalore finished on 189 for nine in their 20 overs. For Rajasthan the two successful bowlers were Trent Boult (2-41) and Sandeep Sharma (2-49).

In their response, Rajasthan was well served by a 98 run stand between Yashasvi Jaiswal and Devdutt Padikkal for the second wicket. Then there was regular fall of wickets. Padikkal made 52 off 34 balls with seven boundaries and a six. Jaiswal made 47 off 37 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. Then Dhruv Jurel used the long handle to good effect as they finished on 34 off 16 balls with two boundaries and two sixes. In the end Rajasthan finished on 182 for six in their 20 overs. For Bangalore the best bowler was Harshal Patel (3-32). 

Match Summary


Royal Challengers Bangalore: 189-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Virat Kohli-0.1 ov), 2-12 (Shahbaz Ahmed-2.1 ov), 3-139 (Faf du Plessis-13.2 ov), 4-156 (Glenn Maxwell-14.6 ov), 5-163 (Mahipal Lomror-16.3 ov), 6-163 (Suyash Prabhudessai-16.5 ov), 7-180 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-19 ov), 8-184 (Dinesh Karthik-19.2 ov), 9-184 (Vijaykumar Vyshak-19.3 ov)

Rajasthan Royals: 182-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Jos Buttler-0.4 ov), 2-99 (Devdutt Padikkal-11.4 ov), 3-108 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-13.4 ov), 4-125 (Sanju Samson-15.2 ov), 5-155 (Shimron Hetmyer-17.5 ov), 6-180 (Ravichandran Ashwin-19.4 ov)

Playing XIs

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (captain & wicket-keeper), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Dhruv Jurel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jason Holder, Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal; Subs: Abdul Basith, Akash Vasisht, Donovan Ferreira, Murugan Ashwin, KM Asif

Impact player: Abdul Basith for Devdutt Padikkal (2nd innings, 19.4 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Faf du Plessis, Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Suyash Prabhudessai, David Willey, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mohammed Siraj, Vijaykumar Vyshak; Subs: Harshal Patel, Finn Allen, Akash Deep, Karn Sharma, Anuj Rawat

Impact player: Harshal Patel for Faf du Plessis (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Rajasthan Royals, elected to field
Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: Michael Gough, Saidharshan Kumar (On-field Umpires); Navdeep Singh (TV Umpire); Abhijit Bhattacharya (Reserve Umpire); Amit Sharma (Match-referee)

Share With Us