Online Cricket ID News

Delhi finally notch up their first win

Delhi finally notch up their first win

Delhi finally notch up their first win

Delhi Capitals finally notched up their first win in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season as they beat Kolkata Knight Riders by four wickets at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Thursday.


Asked to bat, Kolkata posted 127 in their 20 overs and in their response Delhi finally overhauled the target in 19.2 overs to finish on 128 for six.

Kolkata faced a lot of trouble as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Kolkata was reduced to 32 for three. Then there was a brief recovery thanks to opener Jason Roy (43). But the whole innings required a lot of repair work. Unfortunately for Kolkata after Roy left it was down to Andre Russell to do the heavy lifting. Russell remained unbeaten on 38 off 31 balls with one boundary and four sixes. Kolkata finished on 127 in 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Ishant Sharma (2-19), Anrich Nortje (2-20), Axar Patel (2-13) and Kuldeep Yadav (2-15).

In their response Delhi started off well with their skipper David Warner leading the way. But after Prithvi Shaw fell for a while Warner teamed up with Mitchell Marsh. But then there was a collapse. Wickets kept falling at regular intervals as it slipped from 93 for three to 111 for six. Warner finished on 57 off 41 balls with 11 boundaries. In the end Delhi huffed and puffed towards their first win in the 20th over to finish on 128 for six in 19.2 overs. For Kolkata the best bowlers were Varun Chakravarthy (2-16), Anukul Roy (2-19) and Nitish Rana (2-17).

Match Details


Kolkata Knight Riders: 127 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Litton Das-1.6 ov), 2-25 (Venkatesh Iyer-3.3 ov), 3-32 (Nitish Rana-5.2 ov), 4-50 (Mandeep Singh-8.2 ov), 5-64 (Rinku Singh-10.2 ov), 6-70 (Sunil Narine-11.2 ov), 7-93 (Jason Roy-14.4 ov), 8-93 (Anukul Roy-14.5 ov), 9-96 (Umesh Yadav-15.4 ov), 10-127 (Varun Chakravarthy-19.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 128-6 (19.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Prithvi Shaw-4.3 ov), 2-62 (Mitchell Marsh-7.2 ov), 3-67 (Phil Salt-8.1 ov), 4-93 (David Warner-13.1 ov), 5-110 (Manish Pandey-15.5 ov), 6-111 (Aman Hakim Khan-16.2 ov)

Playing XIs

Kolkata Knight Riders: Jason Roy, Litton Das (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana (captain), Mandeep Singh, Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakaravarthy; Subs: Anukul Roy, Vaibhav Arora, David Weise, Suyash Sharma, Narayan Jagadeesan

Impact player: Anukul Roy for Venkatesh Iyer (1st innings, 14.4 ov)

Delhi Capitals: David Warner (captain), Philip Salt (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Marsh, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Aman Hakim Khan, Lalit Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Mukesh Kumar; Subs: Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhul, Chetan Sakariya, Ripal Patel

Impact player: Prithvi Shaw for Ishant Sharma (1st innings, 11.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Michael Gough, Rohan Pandit (On-field Umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Abhijit Bhattachrya (Reserve Umpire); Amit Sharma (Match-referee)

Share With Us