Online Cricket ID News

Delhi Capital lose fifth straight game

Delhi Capital lose fifth straight game

Delhi Capital lose fifth straight game

Delhi Capitals' poor run continued in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season as they went down by 23 runs at the hands of Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 174 for six in their 20 overs and in response Delhi finished on 151 for nine in their 20 overs.

Skipper Faf du Plessis and Virat Kohli put on 42 for the first wicket. Then Kohli added 47 runs for the second wicket with Mahipal Lomror. Kohli made 50 off 34 balls with six boundaries and a six. Then Lomror and Glenn Maxwell also added crucial runs. Then towards the end Shahbaz Ahmed used the long handle to good effect. In the end Bangalore finished on 174 for six in their 20 overs. For Delhi the most successful bowlers were Mitchell Marsh (2-18) and Kuldeep Yadav (2-23).

In their response, Delhi was reduced to two for three. Then skipper David Warner tried to resurrect the innings, but it did not fructify. The innings kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Manish Pandey played a lone hand as he tried to hold the innings together with a 50 off 38 balls with five boundaries and six. Axar Patel and Aman Khan tried to bring the chase back on track. In the end Anrich Nortje struck a few lusty blows. Delhi finished on 151 for nine in their 20 overs. For Bangalore the most successful bowlers were Vijaykumar Vyshak (3-20) and Mohammed Siraj (2-23). 

Match Summary


Royal Challengers Bangalore: 174-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Faf du Plessis-4.4 ov), 2-89 (Virat Kohli-10.1 ov), 3-117 (Mahipal Lomror-12.3 ov), 4-132 (Harshal Patel-13.6 ov), 5-132 (Glenn Maxwell-14.1 ov), 6-132 (Dinesh Karthik-14.2 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 151-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Prithvi Shaw-0.4 ov), 2-1 (Mitchell Marsh-1.4 ov), 3-2 (Yash Dhull-2.2 ov), 4-30 (David Warner-5.4 ov), 5-53 (Abishek Porel-8.5 ov), 6-80 (Axar Patel-12.2 ov), 7-98 (Manish Pandey-13.6 ov), 8-110 (Lalit Yadav-15.5 ov), 9-128 (Aman Hakim Khan-17.3 ov)

Playing XIs

ROYAL Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Wayne Parnell, Mohammed Siraj, Vijaykumar Vyshak; Subs: Suyash Prabhudessai, David Willey, Akash Deep, Karn Sharma, Anuj Rawat.

Impact player: Anuj Rawat for Mahipal Lomror (1st innings, 14.2 ov)

Delhi Capitals: David Warner (captain), Mitchell Marsh, Yash Dhull, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Aman Khan, Abishek Porel (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Mustafizur Rahman; Subs: Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar, Pravin Dubey, Sarfaraz Khan, Chetan Sakariya

Impact player: Prithvi Shaw for Mustafizur Rahman (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Saidharshan Kumar (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Abhijit Bhattacharya (Reserve Umpire); Amit Sharma (Match-referee)

Share With Us