Online Cricket ID News

Chennai keeps moving ahead

Chennai keeps moving ahead

Chennai keeps moving ahead

Chennai Super Kings consolidated its second position on the IPL 2023 points table with a 27 run win over Delhi Capitals at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Wednesday.

After opting to bat, Chennai posted 167 for eight in their 20 overs and in response Delhi finished on 140 for eight in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Chennai started off well as their openers Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad added 32 for the first wicket. Then Chennai lost their middle-order at regular intervals. They slipped from 49 one to 77 for four. Then a 36 run fifth wicket stand between Shivam Dube and Ambati Rayudu revived the innings. Then there was further reviva through a 38 run seventh wicket stand between Ravindra Jadeja and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni. In the end Chennai finished on 167 for eight in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Mitchell Marsh (3-18) and Axar Patel (2-27).

In their response Delhi was reduced to 25 for three in 3.1 overs. Then a 59 run fourth wicket stand between Manish Pandey and Rilee Rossouw revived the chase. Pandey and Rossouw fell in quick succession. Then Axar Patel tried to use long handle to good effect, but it was too little too late. In the end Delhi fell short as they finished on 140 for eight in 20 overs. For Chennai the best bowlers were Matheesha Pathirana (3-37) and Deepak Chahar (2-28). 

Match Summary


Chennai Super Kings: 167-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Devon Conway-4.1 ov), 2-49 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-6.1 ov), 3-64 (Moeen Ali, 9.4 ov), 4-77 (Ajinkya Rahane-11.1 ov), 5-113 (Shivam Dube-14.2 ov), 6-126 (Ambati Rayudu-16.2 ov), 7-164 (Ravindra Jadeja-19.2 ov), 8-166 (MS Dhoni-19.5 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 140-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (David Warner-0.2 ov), 2-20 (Phil Salt-2.3 ov), 3-25 (Mitchell Marsh-3.1 ov), 4-84 (Manish Pandey-12.6 ov), 5-89 (Rilee Rossouw-14.3 ov), 6-116 (Axar Patel-17.5 ov), 7-125 (Ripal Patel-18.5 ov), 8-140 (Lalit Yadav-19.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper & captain), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana; Subs: Matheesha Pathirana, Mitchell Santner, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh

Impact player: Matheesha Pathirana for Shivam Dube (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals: David Warner (captain), Philip Salt (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Marsh, Rilee Rossouw, Aman Hakim Khan, Ripal Patel, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed; Subs: Mukesh Kumar, Manish Pandey, Praveen Dubey, Chetan Sakariya, Abhishek Porel

Impact player: Manish Pandey for Khaleel Ahmed (2nd innings, 2.4 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Chennai Super Kings, elected to bat
Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Nikhil Patwardhan (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Mohit Krishnadas (Reserve Umpire); Sanjay Verma (Match-referee)

Share With Us