Online Cricket ID News

Brook's hundred leads the way for Hyderabad

Brook's hundred leads the way for Hyderabad

Brook's hundred leads the way for Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad registered a 23 run win over Kolkata Knight Riders in a high-scoring encounter at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Friday.

Asked to bat, Hyderabad posted 228 for four in their 20 overs and in their response Kolkata finished on 205 for seven in their 20 overs.

Hyderabad started off well as Harry Brook and Mayank Agarwal adding 46 for the first wicket. Then there was a blip as Hyderabad moved from 46 for no loss to 57 for two. Then Brook added 72 runs for the third wicket with skipper Aiden Markram. This helped put the innings back on track. Markram finished on 50 off 26 balls with two boundaries and five sixes. Then Brook put on 72 runs for the fourth wicket with Abhishek Sharma. Brook ended unbeaten on 100 off 55 balls with 12 boundaries and three sixes. For Kolkata the best bowler was Andre Russell (3-22).

In their response Kolkata lost their top-order cheaply to be reduced to 20 for three. Narayan Jagadeesan then added 62 runs for the fourth wicket with skipper Nitish Rana. Then the innings slipped further. Rana then added 69 runs for the sixth wicket with Rinku Singh. Rana made 75 off 41 balls with five boundaries and six sixes. In the end Rinku was again left to do the hard yards. Rinku finished unbeaten on 58 off 31 balls with four boundaries and four sixes. For Hyderabad the two most successful bowlers were Mayank Markande (2-27) and Marco Jansen (2-37). 

Match Summary


Match Summary
Sunrisers Hyderabad: 228-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Mayank Agarwal-4.1 ov), 2-57 (Rahul Tripathi-4.6 ov), 3-129 (Aiden Markram-12.5 ov), 4-201 (Abhishek Sharma-18.1 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders: 205-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-0.3 ov), 2-20 (Venkatesh Iyer-3.2 ov), 3-20 (Sunil Narine-3.3 ov), 4-82 (Narayan Jagadeesan-8.2 ov), 5-96 (Andre Russell-10.1 ov), 6-165 (Nitish Rana-16.3 ov), 7-197 (Shardul Thakur-19.1 ov)

Playing XIs
Kolkata Knight Riders: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicket-keeper), Narayan Jagadeesan, Nitish Rana (captain), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy, Suyash Sharma; Subs: Mandeep Singh, Anukul Roy, Venkatesh Iyer, David Wiese, Kulwant Khejroliya

Impact player: Venkatesh Iyer for Suyash Sharma (2nd innings, 0.3 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Abhishek Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram (captain), Harry Brook, Heinrich Klaasen (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Mayank Markande, Bhuvneswhar Kumar, Umran Malik, T Natarajan; Subs: Abdul Samad, Vivrant Sharma, Glenn Phillips, Mayank Dagar, Washington Sundar

Impact player: Washington Sundar for Harry Brook (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders, elected to field
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Sadashiv Iyer (On-field Umpires); Nikhil Patwardhan (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Daniel Manohar (Match-referee)

Share With Us