Online Cricket ID News

Bowlers, Young help New Zealand seal series

Bowlers, Young help New Zealand seal series

Bowlers, Young help New Zealand seal series

SL 157 (41.3)

NZ 159/4 (32.5)

New Zealand won by 6 wkts

New Zealand's seamers triggered a second successive Sri Lanka collapse, sending the visitors sprawling in the first few overs, before they eventually sputtered to 157 all out. Then, despite an early wobble of their own, New Zealand strode confidently to the target, inside 33 overs, to wrap up the series 2-0.

Will Young held the chase together from No. 3, making an unruffled 86 not out. Though wickets fell at the other end, he remained steady, until Henry Nicholls joined him, and the pair put on 100 for the fifth wicket - Nicholls making an unbeaten 44.

It had been Matt Henry who set the tone for the match, however, setting off the collapse by nicking two of Sri Lanka's top three off, before returning figures of 3 for 14 from his 10 overs. Henry Shipley and Daryl Mitchell also took three wickets apiece, as Sri Lanka's batters struggled again to negotiate the bounce New Zealand's seamers were generating.

This is Sri Lanka's fifth consecutive loss (in completed matches), and their seventh loss in eight games, and as such, it confirms that they have not qualified for this year's World Cup directly. They will instead have to play the qualifying series in Zimbabwe in the middle of the year to earn their place. New Zealand, meanwhile, have cemented their position atop the ODI Super League table, with 175 points.

Match Stats


Sri Lanka tour Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Nuwanidu Fernando - 2.4 ov), 2-13 (Kusal Mendis - 4.4 ov), 3-18 (Angelo Mathews - 7.5 ov), 4-49 (Charith Asalanka - 14.3 ov), 5-70 (Dhananjaya de Silva - 18.3 ov), 6-100 (Pathum Nissanka - 23.5 ov), 7-128 (Dasun Shanaka - 31.4 ov), 8-133 (Wanindu Hasaranga - 32.5 ov), 9-150 (Chamika Karunaratne - 37.5 ov), 10-157 (Kasun Rajitha - 41.3 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Chad Bowes - 1.1 ov), 2-6 (Tom Blundell - 1.6 ov), 3-21 (Daryl Mitchell - 6.1 ov), 4-59 (Tom Latham - 14.5 ov)


Playing XI

New Zealand: Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Will Young, Henry Nicholls, Tom Latham(WK/C), Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Matt Henry, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Sri Lanka:, Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis(WK), Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka(C), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara


Match Details:

Date: Friday, March 31, 2023 02:00

Venue: Seddon Park, Hamilton, Hamilton

Toss: Sri Lanka elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Chris Brown (New Zealand) Wayne Knights (New Zealand) Shaun Haig (New Zealand TV)

Match Referee:Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

Share With Us