Online Cricket ID News

Arshdeep, Curran star for Punjab in high-scoring contest

Arshdeep, Curran star for Punjab in high-scoring contest

Arshdeep, Curran star for Punjab in high-scoring contest

Punjab Kings held their nerves to beat Mumbai Indians by 13 runs in the Indian Premier League encounter at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday.

sked to bat, Punjab posted 214 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response, Mumbai finished on 201 for six.

Earlier, Punjab was served well by a 47 run second wicket stand between Atharva Taide and Prabhsimran Singh. Then there was a collapse as Punjab slipped from 65 for one to 83 for four. Then a 92 run fifth wicket stand between Harpreet Singh Bhatia (41: 28b, 4x4, 2x6) and skipper Sam Curran revived the innings. Curran finished on 55 off 29 balls with five boundaries and four sixes. Then Jitesh Sharma used the long handle to good effect as he struck 25 off seven balls with four sixes. In the end Punjab finished on 214 for eight in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Piyush Chawla (2-15) and Cameron Green (2-41).

In their response, Mumbai started scripting the chase through a 76 run second wicket stand between skipper Rohit Sharma (44: 27b, 4x4, 3x6) and Green. Then after Sharma fell, Green joined forces with Suryakumar Yadav. Green finished on 67 off 43 balls with six boundaries and three sixes. Yadav then ended on 57 off 26 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. Tim David tried to swing the game back in Mumbai's favour. But in the end Mumbai ended on 201 for six in their 20 overs. For Punjab the best bowler was Arshdeep Singh (4-29).

Match Summary
Punjab Kings: 214-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Matthew Short-2.3 ov), 2-65 (Prabhsimran Singh-6.4 ov), 3-82 (Liam Livingstone-9.1 ov), 4-83 (Atharva Taide-9.4 ov), 5-175 (Harpreet Singh-17.4 ov), 6-197 (Sam Curran-18.6 ov), 7-209 (Jitesh Sharma-19.4 ov), 8-214 (Harpreet Brar-19.6 ov)


Mumbai Indians: 201-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Ishan Kishan-1.1 ov), 2-84 (Rohit Sharma-9.3 ov), 3-159 (Cameron Green-15.3 ov), 4-182 (Suryakumar Yadav-17.4 ov), 5-200 (Tilak Varma-19.3 ov), 6-200 (Nehal Wadhera-19.4 ov)

Playing XI
Punjab Kings: Atharva Taide, Prabhsimran Singh, Matthew Short, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran (captain), Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Harpreet Singh Bhatia, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh; Subs: Nathan Ellis, Mohit Rathee, Sikandar Raza, Rishi Dhawan, Gurnoor Brar

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Tilak Varma, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Jofra Archer, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff; Subs: Ramandeep Singh , Kumar Kartikeya, Shams Mulani, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Sadashiv Iyer (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

Share With Us