India captain Rohit Sharma is said to be injured and won't play in the second Test against Bangladesh in Dhaka. After missing the first Test because of a thumb injury, the Indian captain has been ruled out of the series finale. He probably will play in the white-ball series that India plays against Sri Lanka this month.
Rohit Sharma attempted to catch during the recently concluded ODI series against Bangladesh and sustained a thumb injury. After suffering the injury while fielding in the first innings of the second ODI, he had to be taken to the hospital for scans. When the Indian opener decided to bat despite being injured, his situation got worse.
He was disqualified from both the Chattogram Test series opener and the third and final ODI of the series. Reports from the Indian camp following India's victory in the first Test indicated that the management was not going to take a chance with the skipper's thumb, which is still stiff and has not fully recovered. Even though the management thinks Rohit is ready to bat in the second Test, playing in the field could make his injury worse.
For the second Test in Dhaka, Rohit's opening partner and vice-captain KL Rahul will continue to serve in that capacity as India attempts to sweep the two-match series. The significant opener is supposed to partake in India's white-ball series against Sri Lanka, what begins on January 3, despite the fact that there has been no conventional word on his return.