Online Cricket ID News

South Africa finally ace the chase against Afghanistan

South Africa finally ace the chase against Afghanistan

South Africa finally ace the chase against Afghanistan

South Africa ended their league stage on high as they defeated Afghanistan by five wickets. The match between the two teams took place at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. Afghanistan won the toss and opted to bat first. They got all out for 244, which Proteas chased in 47.3 overs.

Afghanistan had a decent start with the bat as Rahmanullah Gurbaz (25:22b, 3x4, 1x6) and Ibrahim Zadran (15:30b, 3x4) added 41 runs for the opening stand. But after that, they lost three wickets for just three wickets and were left tottering at 45 for three. Rahmat Shah (26:46b, 2x4) played a handy knock but a real blitz came from the bat of Azmatullah Omarzai (97 not out:117b, 7x4, 3x6). He batted till the very end but couldn’t get to his ton as he lost his partners. A vital hand by Rashid Khan (14:30b) and Noor Ahmad (26:32b, 4x4) powered Afghanistan to a total of 244. For South Africa, Gerald Coetzee bagged four wickets.

South Africa was also off to a decent start as Quinton de Kock (41:47b, 2x4, 3x6) and Temba Bavuma (23:28b, 3x4). But after that Afghanistan bowlers bowled well and chipped in with wickets at crucial stages. They reduced Proteas to 182 for five. But Rassie van der Dussen (76 not out: 95b, 6x4, 1x6) held the fort for his side and batted staggeringly well. He got good support from Andile Phehlukwayo (39:37b, 1x4, 3x6). The duo added an unbeaten 65-run partnership to take the team home. For Afghanistan, Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi picked two wickets each.


Afghanistan: 244-10 (50)

Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-8.1 ov), 2-41 (Ibrahim Zadran-9.3 ov), 3-45 (Hashmatullah Shahidi-10.5 ov), 4-94 (Rahmat Shah-23.5 ov), 5-112 (Ikram Alikhil-26.5 ov), 6-116 (Mohammad Nabi-27.4 ov), 7-160 (Rashid Khan-37.5 ov), 8-204 (Noor Ahmad-45.6 ov), 9-226 (Mujeeb Ur Rahman-47.4 ov), 10-244 (Naveen-ul-Haq-49.6 ov)

South Africa: 247-5 (47.3)

Fall of wickets: 1-64 (Temba Bavuma-10.6 ov), 2-66 (Quinton de Kock-13.1 ov), 3-116 (Aiden Markram-23.1 ov), 4-139 (Heinrich Klaasen-27.3 ov), 5-182 (David Miller-37.1 ov)

Playing XIs

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Ikram Alikhil (wicketkeeper), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq

Match Details
Toss: Afghanistan, elected to bat
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Start time: 0830 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Brown, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Kumar Dharmasena  (TV Umpire); Chris Gaffaney (Reserve umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match Referee)

Share With Us