Online Cricket ID News

New Zealand win last ball thriller to keep series alive against Pakistan

New Zealand win last ball thriller to keep series alive against Pakistan

New Zealand win last ball thriller to keep series alive against Pakistan

In the 3rd T20I, New Zealand won a last ball thriller to keep their series hopes alive against Pakistan, at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore Monday.

Match Summary

Pakistan 159/10 (20 ov)

New Zealand 163/5 (20 ov)

Result - New Zealand won by 4 runs

Match Report

All-rounder James Neesham held his nerve in the final over to give New Zealand a dramatic four-run win over Pakistan in the third T20 international in Lahore on Monday despite Iftikhar Ahmed's brilliant innings.

Ahmed brought Pakistan back into the contest from 88-7 with a whirlwind 24-ball 60 as they attempted to chase down New Zealand's 163-5.

Needing 15 to win from Neesham's final over, he hit a six and a four to reduce the target to five off the last three deliveries.

But Neesham had Ahmed caught at long-on by Daryl Mitchell and then after a dot ball dismissed last man Haris Rauf in the same manner.

Ahmed led the fightback with Faheem Ashraf as the pair added 61 for the eighth wicket, with Ashraf holing out after a 14-ball 27 studded with two sixes and as many fours.

Ahmed smashed six sixes and three fours.

The victory means New Zealand trail the five-match series 2-1 after Pakistan won the first two games, by 88 and 38 runs, also in Lahore.

The last two matches are in Rawalpindi on April 20 and 24.

Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals with prolific opening pair Babar Azam (one) and Mohammad Rizwan (six) both gone by the fourth over with the score on just 17.

Azam was caught at third man off pacer Adam Milne while Rizwan was found short of his crease after trying to take a sharp single.

Pakistan were further jolted by left-arm spinner Rachin Ravindra who dismissed Fakhar Zaman (17) and Imad Wasim for three while Saim Ayub fell to Neesham for 10.

Ish Sodhi dismissed Shaheen Shah Afridi for six and Milne accounted for Shadab Khan for 16, leaving Pakistan reeling.

The hosts battled back thanks to Ahmed, but were bowled out from the final ball on 159.

Earlier, New Zealand's innings was anchored by captain Tom Latham's 64 after winning the toss.

Latham, who hit seven fours and two sixes, added 65 for the third wicket with Mitchell who scored a 26-ball 33.

Mark Chapman made 16 not out off nine balls as New Zealand managed to score 51 in the last five overs.

Shaheen -- playing his 50th T20I -- took 2-33 while his fellow pacer Rauf finished with 2-31.

Match Summary


New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Chad Bowes - 2.6 ov), 2-56 (Will Young - 8.3 ov), 3-121 (Daryl Mitchell - 15.4 ov), 4-128 (Tom Latham - 16.4 ov), 5-149 (Jimmy Neesham - 18.4 ov)

Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Babar Azam - 1.5 ov), 2-17 (Mohammad Rizwan - 3.4 ov), 3-39 (Saim Ayub - 7.1 ov), 4-45 (Fakhar Zaman - 8.3 ov), 5-55 (Imad Wasim - 10.2 ov), 6-64 (Shaheen Afridi - 11.5 ov), 7-88 (Shadab Khan - 14.1 ov), 8-149 (Faheem Ashraf - 18.3 ov), 9-159 (Iftikhar Ahmed - 19.4 ov), 10-159 (Haris Rauf - 19.6 ov)

Playing XI

Pakistan - Mohammad Rizwan(WK), Babar Azam(C), Fakhar Zaman, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah

New Zealand - Tom Latham(WK/C), Chad Bowes, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Adam Milne, Ben Lister, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry


Match Details

Date - 2023-04-17 16:00:00

Venue - Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Toss - New Zealand elected to bat

Umpires - Ahsan Raza (Pakistan), Faisal Afridi (Pakistan), Aleem Dar (Pakistan TV)

Share With Us