Online Cricket ID News

New Zealand get a step closer to semifinal in World cup

New Zealand get a step closer to semifinal in World cup

New Zealand get a step closer to semifinal in World cup

New Zealand put a foot in the semi-final after they pounded Sri Lanka by five wickets. The 41st match of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 took place at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bengaluru.

New Zealand 172/5 (23.2 ov)

Sri Lanka 171/10 (46.4 ov)

Result - New Zealand won by 5 wickets


Opting to first, the Black Caps bundled out Sri Lanka for just 171. With the bat, they chased the target in 23.2 overs and bagged two important points.

New Zealand bowlers were right on the money from the start. They kept taking wickets regularly and put Sri Lanka under pressure. Despite wickets falling at the other end, Kusal Perera (51:28b, 9x4, 2x6) slammed a brutal half-century. His innings made sure that his side kept the run rate high.

After his wicket, Sri Lanka was reduced to 128 for nine. Maheesh Theekshana (38 not out:91b, 3x4) and Dilshan Madhushanka (19:48b, 2x4) added 43 runs for the last wicket that powered Sri Lanka to the total of 171. For New Zealand, Trent Boult picked three wickets whereas Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson and Rachin Ravindra picked two scalps each.

New Zealand openers Devon Conway (45:42b, 9x4) and Rachin Ravindra (42:34b, 3x4, 3x6) came out with a positive mindset. They added 86 runs for the opening partnership but both lost their wickets at the same time. Skipper Kane Williamson (14:15b, 2x4) fell early as well. But Daryl Mitchell (43:31b, 5x4, 2x6) played a brutal knock before Glenn Phillips (17 not out:10b, 3x4) played a vital knock to take the team home.

Match Stats


Sri Lanka Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Pathum Nissanka - 1.5 ov), 2-30 (Kusal Mendis - 4.1 ov), 3-32 (Sadeera Samarawickrama - 4.4 ov), 4-70 (Charith Asalanka - 8.2 ov), 5-70 (Kusal Perera - 9.3 ov), 6-104 (Angelo Mathews - 16.4 ov), 7-105 (Dhananjaya de Silva - 18.3 ov), 8-113 (Chamika Karunaratne - 23.3 ov), 9-128 (Dushmantha Chameera - 32.1 ov), 10-171 (Dilshan Madushanka - 46.4 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Devon Conway - 12.2 ov), 2-88 (Rachin Ravindra - 13.3 ov), 3-130 (Kane Williamson - 18.2 ov), 4-145 (Mark Chapman - 20.3 ov), 5-162 (Daryl Mitchell - 22.4 ov)


Playing XI

NEW ZEALAND - Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson(C), Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tom Latham(WK), Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson 

SRI LANKA - Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis(WK/C), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka


Match Details

Date - 2023-11-09 08:30:00

Venue - M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Toss - New Zealand elected to bowl

Umpires - Adrian Holdstock(South Africa), Joel Wilson(West Indies), Richard kettleborough(England TV)

Match Referee - Javagal Srinath(India)

Share With Us