Online Cricket ID News

Mumbai is now SKY high after his first ton

Mumbai is now SKY high after his first ton

Mumbai is now SKY high after his first ton

Mumbai Indians are now in third spot in the IPL 2023 points table after they beat Gujarat Titans by 27 runs at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Friday.

Asked to bat Mumbai posted 218 for five in their 20 overs and in their response Gujarat finished on 191 for eight in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Mumbai started off well with their openers Ishan Kishan and skipper Rohit Sharma putting on 61 in 6.1 overs. After the openers fell, it was time for Suryakumar Yadav to take charge of the innings. Yadav and Vishnu Vinod added 65 runs for the fourth wicket. After Vinod and Tim David fell, it was the Yadav show. He finished unbeaten on 103 off 49 balls with 11 boundaries and six sixes. In the end Mumbai finished on 218 for five in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the best bowler was Rashid Khan (4-30).

In their response Gujarat kept losing wickets at regular intervals. They were reduced to 55 for five. Then a 45 run sixth wicket stand between David Miller and Rahul Tewatia which put the innings back on track to an extent. Then the innings was reduced to 103 for eight in 13.2 overs. It was right then that Rashid Khan took charge of the innings. Khan struck an unbeaten 79 off 32 balls with three boundaries and 10 sixes. Khan added 88 runs for the ninth wicket with Alzarri Joseph. In the end Gujarat finished on 191 for eight in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Akash Madhwal (3-31), Piyush Chawla (2-36) and Kumar Kartikeya (2-37).

Match Summary
Mumbai Indians: 218-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-61 (Rohit Sharma-6.1 ov), 2-66 (Ishan Kishan-6.5 ov), 3-88 (Nehal Wadhera-8.6 ov), 4-153 (Vishnu Vinod-15.6 ov), 5-164 (Tim David-16.6 ov)

Gujarat Titans: 191-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Wriddhiman Saha-1.5 ov), 2-12 (Hardik Pandya-2.3 ov), 3-26 (Shubman Gill-3.5 ov), 4-48 (Vijay Shankar-6.1 ov), 5-55 (Abhinav Manohar-7.1 ov), 6-100 (David Miller-11.6 ov), 7-100 (Rahul Tewatia-12.1 ov), 8-103 (Noor Ahmad-13.2 ov)

Match Stats 


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Nehal Wadhera, Tim David, Chris Jordan, Vishnu Vinod, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Kumar Kartikeya; Subs: Ramandeep Singh, Akash Madhwal, Dewald Brevis, Sandeep Warrier, Hrithik Shokeen

Impact player: Shubman Gill for Mohit Sharma (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (captain), Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Abhinav Manohar, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Alzarri Joseph; Subs: KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, R Sai Kishore, Sai Sudharsan, Shubman Gill

Impact player: Akash Madhwal for Vishnu Vinod (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Titans, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Tapan Sharma (On-field Umpires); Vinod Seshan (TV Umpire); VM Dhokre (Reserve Umpire); Reetinder Sodhi (Match-referee)

Share With Us