Online Cricket ID News

Conway's efforts in vain as Punjab prevail

Conway's efforts in vain as Punjab prevail

Conway's efforts in vain as Punjab prevail

Punjab Kings got the better of Chennai Super Kings in a high-scoring encounter, in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, by four wickets at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

After opting to bat, Chennai posted 200 for four in their 20 overs and in their response Punjab finished on 201 for six in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Chennai was well served by their openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway added 86 for the opening wicket. Gaikwad made 37 off 31 balls. Conway then added 44 runs for the second wicket with Shivam Dube. Then Conway teamed up with the other batters to help swell the Chennai total. Conway finished on 92 off 52 balls with 16 boundaries and a six. In the end Chennai made 200 for four in their 20 overs.

In their response, Punjab started off well with their openers skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Prabhsimran Singh putting on 50 in 4.2 overs. Then Singh added 31 runs for the second wicket with Atharva Taide. Then Liam Livingstone added 57 runs for the fourth wicket with Sam Curran. Livingstone (40) and Curran (29) played key roles with the bat, Towards the end Jitesh Sharma and Sikandar Raza played key roles as Punjab overhauled the target off the last ball to finish on 201 for six. For Chennai the best bowlers were Tushar Deshpande (3-49) and Ravindra Jadeja (2-32). 

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings: 200-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-9.4 ov), 2-130 (Shivam Dube-13.6 ov), 3-158 (Moeen Ali-16.1 ov), 4-185 (Ravindra Jadeja-19.1 ov)

Punjab Kings: 201-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-50 (Shikhar Dhawan-4.2 ov), 2-81 (Prabhsimran Singh-8.3 ov), 3-94 (Atharva Taide-10.2 ov), 4-151 (Liam Livingstone-15.5 ov), 5-170 (Sam Curran-17.1 ov), 6-186 (Jitesh Sharma-18.4 ov)

Playing XIs


Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Matheesha Pathirana, Maheesh Theekshana, Tushar Deshpande; Subs: Akash Singh, Dwaine Pretorius, Subhrashu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, Rajvardhan Hangargekar

Impact player: Akash Singh for Ambati Rayudu (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Atharva Taide, Liam Livingstone, Sikandar Raza, Sam Curran, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh; Subs: Prabhsimran Singh, Matthew Short, Rishi Dhawan, Mohit Rathee, Shivam Singh

Impact player: Prabhsimran Singh for Kagiso Rabada (1st innings, 19.6 ov)

Match Details

Toss: Chennai Super Kings, elected to bat
Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: Rod Tucker, Ulhas Gandhe (On-field Umpires); Yeshwant Barde (TV Umpire); Mohamed Rafi (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee) 

Share With Us