Online Cricket ID News

Chapman and Neesham level T20I series for New Zealand

Chapman and Neesham level T20I series for New Zealand

Chapman and Neesham level T20I series for New Zealand

An unbeaten 104* from Mark Chapman (57 balls) and 45* (25 balls) from Jimmy Neesham, in the run chase, ensured that New Zealand scrambled a series levelling win, in the 5th and final T20I, against Pakistan, today,  at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi.

Match Summary

Pakistan 193/5 (20 ov)

New Zealand 194/4 (19.2 ov)

New Zealand won by 6 wickets

Match Report

Mark Chapman’s maiden T20I century which included an unbroken 121-run partnership for the fifth wicket with Jimmy Neesham led New Zealand to a six-wicket win over Pakistan in the fifth T20I here at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on Monday evening. The win also means the series ended at 2-2 with one match (fourth T20I) abandoned due to rain.

The hosts had won first and second T20I at the Gaddafi Stadium, while the visitors won the third T20I at the Gaddafi Stadium before winning tonight’s game.

Chasing 194 runs to win, the kiwis lost their captain Tom Latham on the first ball of the innings with Shaheen Shah Afridi once again striking in his first spell. The left-arm pacer went on to pick another wicket in the first over, dismissing Will Young (4 off 4) caught behind.

Imad Wasim, the left-arm spinner bagged the prized scalp of Chad Bowes (19, 13b, 4x4s) to put the visitors on the backfoot at 26 for three in the fourth over. Imad ended-up with figures of two for 21 in four overs which included wicket of Daryl Mitchell (15 off 18) who added 47 runs for the fourth wicket with Mark Chapman.

With 73 runs on the board, Neesham joined Chapman at the crease. The pair took on the Pakistan bowlers and scored runs at will. Player of the match Chapman, who was dropped in the 14th over by Shadab Khan off Shaheen’s bowling took full advantage and went on to score his maiden century. He returned undefeated on 104 off 57 balls, which included 11 fours and four sixes.

The left-handed Neesham scored an unbeaten 45 off 25, hitting four fours and two sixes.

Earlier, after being put into bat, Pakistan scored 193 for five in their allotted 20 overs on the back of an unbeaten 98 from Mohammad Rizwan and quick-fire knocks from Iftikhar Ahmed and Imad. The hosts had a good start with opening pair of Babar Azam and Rizwan provided yet another half-century stand as Babar (19, 18b, 3x4s) was the first one to return back to the hut with 51 runs on the board in the batting powerplay.

After the departure of Babar, Pakistan lost two more wickets in quick succession with Mohammad Haris (0 off one ball) and Saim Ayub (0 off two balls) went back to the pavilion inside four balls as the scoreboard reading Pakistan 52 for three in 6.2 overs.

At that point, Rizwan was joined by Iftikhar in the middle and the pair knitted 71 off 46 balls. The right-handed Iftikhar who almost led Pakistan to win in the third T20I against New Zealand at the Gaddafi Stadium on Monday evening, made a quick-fire 36 off 22 balls, which included three fours and two sixes before getting out to Blair Tickner, who ended-up with match figures of three for 33 in four overs.

After the departure of Iftikhar, left-handed Imad Wasim joined Rizwan and the pair added 68 off 34 balls. Imad struck five fours and one six during his 14-ball 31 knock. He was run-out in the final over of the innings trying to give a chance to Rizwan to get on-strike to complete his second T20I century.

Wicketkeeper-batter Rizwan missed out on the century by two runs as the right-handed batter missed out on an opportunity to score on the final ball of the innings. The opening batter innings included seven fours and four sixes and the runs came at the strike-rate of 158.06.

Both sides will now feature in a five-match ODI series starting from Thursday, 27 April at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi.

 Match Stats


Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-51 (Babar Azam - 5.4 ov), 2-51 (Mohammad Haris - 5.5 ov), 3-52 (Saim Ayub - 6.2 ov), 4-123 (Iftikhar Ahmed - 13.6 ov), 5-191 (Imad Wasim - 19.4 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Tom Latham - 0.1 ov), 2-4 (Will Young - 0.5 ov), 3-26 (Chad Bowes - 3.5 ov), 4-73 (Daryl Mitchell - 9.5 ov)


Playing XIs

Pakistan: Babar Azam(C),Mohammad Rizwan(WK), Mohammad Haris, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Ihsanullah

New Zealand: , Tom Latham(WK/C), Chad Bowes, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Henry Shipley, Blair Tickner


Match Details:

Date: 2023-04-24 16:00:00

Venue: Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Toss: New Zealand elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) Asif Yaqoob (Pakistan) Rashid Riaz (Pakistan TV)

Match Referee: Ali Naqvi (Pakistan)

Share With Us